Southern Fried Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Absolutely awesome!!!!!! Easy & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
I've been fixing the apples this way for years. They're great, it's a 'must do'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I agree with Carol V. That much cinnamon would kill me. I use 1 tsp. and everybody loves it. I also add a pinch of nutmeg. During the apple season, we have a bowl of this in the fridge all the time. Good on anything. I have Golden Glow and Harelson apple trees. They both work great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Super delicious, easy to make and my daughter looooovvveesss when i make these...i sub with brown sugar tho
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel Lehman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I just made these fried apples to put over Cream Cheese Squares also on Allrecipes.com. These were the easiest apples to make and they taste sooooo gooood! My husband even told me to make up a batch to spoon over ice cream to make a sundae. I bet a little caramel syrup would put it over the top. Thanks for a great and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
This is a lot like my Mother's recipe, though she used brown sugar instead of white sugar. They kind of taste like home-made apple sauce, only better...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Whitlark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Very good; ate at breakfast...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
This was great stuff. I made it exactly as written. Since I'd never made anything like it before, though, I didn't know quite what to do with it, but I read the "breakfast" suggestion and ate it served on top of frozen waffles that I had popped into the toaster - the combination worked very well. This lasted me for 4 breakfasts, and the reheated leftovers were almost as good as fresh. When I ate this, it took me a while to remember where I'd eaten something like this before, then it struck me - this is the same kind of "cinnamon apples" that is one of the side-dish choices I've gotten at restaurants like barbecue joints. Easy and tasty, and worth recommending.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
I've always used a similar recipe to this for my fried apples. Sometimes I use brown sugar in lieu of white, but you can also add bacon drippings (what DOESN'T bacon improve the flavor of?!) in exchange for some of the butter to get a more robust flavor profile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chadwick Horn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bmom4
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
This is a great simple recipe. I did however use 2 very big honey crisp apples because that is all I use. I used brown sugar and a tad of regular sugar but cut it in half. Cut the butter by half as well. I ended up simmering the apples for about 30 minutes because that is where I found I like the tenderness of them. The key is stirring every few minutes. Added a dash of cinnamon and it was perfect! This made 4 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States