Southern Fried Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
This recipe was super easy and delicious. I used a variety of apples (Red Delicious, Granny Smith and Mackintosh) and left a little skin to identify the apple and this works for any type of apple. I instead of 2 tablespoons of cinnamon, I used 1 1/2 tablespoon of cinnamon and with the remaining 1/2 tablespoon, I was little nutmeg, allspice and ginger. My husband and kids loved it as a side for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
This is my mother's recipe as well. I have grown up on these fried apples. As I got older and more health conscious, I began substituting apple juice for the butter. Still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LorenaMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Royse City, Texas, USA
Photo by Cookie734
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
These apples were delicious. The recipe is easy and the ingredients are usually readily available. Great side dish for any meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie734
Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This was my first attempt at fried apples, and it was horrible. I think the recipe had a typo. Perhaps the two tablespoons of cinnamon should have been two teaspoons. It may be a while, but I may try it again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I would highly recommend a particular type of cinnamon. It is called Ground Saigon Cinnamon. It has a strong cinnamon flavor. If this is to strong try Ground Ceylon cinnamon, from Sri Lanka. It is awesome as well. I didn't realize what a difference these could make in traditional dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
I've always used a similar recipe to this for my fried apples. Sometimes I use brown sugar in lieu of white, but you can also add bacon drippings (what DOESN'T bacon improve the flavor of?!) in exchange for some of the butter to get a more robust flavor profile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chadwick Horn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
I halved the recipe and added 2 dashes of salt. The apples were perfect! My Son thought I had spent a lot of time! He pronounced the dish as addictive. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Everyone enjoyed this in an old fashioned cast iron skillet just like my grandmother used to make!! Very good and it brings back a lot of warm memories....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
SUB DARK BROWN SUGAR FOR WHITE SUGAR AND YOU HAVE A BIG WOW
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
This was great stuff. I made it exactly as written. Since I'd never made anything like it before, though, I didn't know quite what to do with it, but I read the "breakfast" suggestion and ate it served on top of frozen waffles that I had popped into the toaster - the combination worked very well. This lasted me for 4 breakfasts, and the reheated leftovers were almost as good as fresh. When I ate this, it took me a while to remember where I'd eaten something like this before, then it struck me - this is the same kind of "cinnamon apples" that is one of the side-dish choices I've gotten at restaurants like barbecue joints. Easy and tasty, and worth recommending.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States