Southern Fried Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I just made these fried apples to put over Cream Cheese Squares also on Allrecipes.com. These were the easiest apples to make and they taste sooooo gooood! My husband even told me to make up a batch to spoon over ice cream to make a sundae. I bet a little caramel syrup would put it over the top. Thanks for a great and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
This is a lot like my Mother's recipe, though she used brown sugar instead of white sugar. They kind of taste like home-made apple sauce, only better...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Whitlark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Very good; ate at breakfast...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
This was great stuff. I made it exactly as written. Since I'd never made anything like it before, though, I didn't know quite what to do with it, but I read the "breakfast" suggestion and ate it served on top of frozen waffles that I had popped into the toaster - the combination worked very well. This lasted me for 4 breakfasts, and the reheated leftovers were almost as good as fresh. When I ate this, it took me a while to remember where I'd eaten something like this before, then it struck me - this is the same kind of "cinnamon apples" that is one of the side-dish choices I've gotten at restaurants like barbecue joints. Easy and tasty, and worth recommending.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
I've always used a similar recipe to this for my fried apples. Sometimes I use brown sugar in lieu of white, but you can also add bacon drippings (what DOESN'T bacon improve the flavor of?!) in exchange for some of the butter to get a more robust flavor profile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chadwick Horn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bmom4
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
This is a great simple recipe. I did however use 2 very big honey crisp apples because that is all I use. I used brown sugar and a tad of regular sugar but cut it in half. Cut the butter by half as well. I ended up simmering the apples for about 30 minutes because that is where I found I like the tenderness of them. The key is stirring every few minutes. Added a dash of cinnamon and it was perfect! This made 4 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Way too much cinnamon for me. I listened to some of the other reviewers and halved the cinnamon and it was still too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Great recipes but next time I will use half the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
These were delicious, i added a pinch of salt, they turned out awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StephanieP
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This was my first attempt at fried apples, and it was horrible. I think the recipe had a typo. Perhaps the two tablespoons of cinnamon should have been two teaspoons. It may be a while, but I may try it again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States