Southern Fried Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2015
This recipe was great! After reading other users' reviews, I decided to only use 1 tbsp of cinnamon. I also used 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar. This was absolutely perfect! I'm looking forward to making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julie Hilton
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
Definitely recommend the Granny Smith apples, not Red Delicious. I made it and it's way too sweet. You need the "bitterness" of the Granny Smith to counteract all the sugar and cinnamon. Next time, I'll try different apples and not so much sugar and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Hilton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, Florida, USA
Living In: Mayo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
Great recipe! Super easy. Watch not to let the caramel get too hot to fast! Gets very sticky very quickly.. i made it a second time and served just as the sugar was completely melted and it was much smoother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
I added a little water, cooked down and added a teas. of bacon grease. Also the recipe has way too much cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth Hager Borlie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
Awesome recipe! I used bacon drippings (1/2 teaspoon)and dash of salt and brown sugar version. When the apples were broken down and cooked almost 3/4 of the way, I added 1/2 cup of organic granola with almond slivers. This gave the apples a texture and also absorbed a lot of the sauce giving it a cobbler effect in a way. I layered it on an open faced banana bread I made the day before (http://goo.gl/5Jf8Lq) and topped with a thin slice of cheddar cheese add a scoop of vanilla ice cream on the side(sur le côté). I have been craving a cobbler lately and this was a great alternative. I cooked it ALL in my ceramic coated cast iron dutch oven on the stove top. no oven needed. ( well except the banana bread) ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Made these tonight for dinner. Me and my husband really enjoyed them. My husband said they were better than a restaurant he likes. I did cut down on the cinnamon. I was afraid it would overwhelm the taste of the apples. They reminded me of when I was a kid. Will be making these often! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Overly sweet and way too much Cinnamon....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine Thornton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
I made these fried apples for a big family breakfast the Saturday after Christmas. They were delicious and very easy to make. My sister talked me into using additional cinnamon -- she was happy but too much for me. Looking forward to preparing again but next time according to recipe. So glad I have more apples!! I encourage you to make these and don't listen to my sister. JP
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin'sGodMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rocky Mount, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
This is an easy and delicious recipe! It can be used for breakfast or for a side dish with pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Radford, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Our apple trees produced lots this year---my DH is tired of dried apples so I have bags of chopped apples in the freezer to use up. Found this recipe and it's WONDERFUL! Hello baked ham, breakfast oatmeal, apple cobbler, and everything else I can fix with these apples! Thank you for an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States