Southern Fried Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Good recipe, but I left the skin on the apples, sliced them horizontally instead of in wedges, and cooked them a little longer. This is how I remember my mother cooked them. Ken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Really good. The apples didn't turn out as brown but it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nana97
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
So easy and delicious. I used 4 big yellow delicious apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
My grandma made fried apples throughout my childhood and beyond. Her apples had less cinnamon but could be adjusted to your own taste. This is a great place to start because my husband likes a more intense cinnamon flavor. Whichever way you like these apples either loaded with cinnamon or not your family will love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol O

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carrollton, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Yummy! Wouldn't change anything about this recipe! Tried a little taste, which lead to another little taste. Now I hope there's enough for the family to enjoy tonight! --Sunshine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I have fixed this recipe for years. It is so simple, yet so divine! And it cooks up so quickly that it's a cinch to fix in a pinch! It's especially great for a special breakfast treat. It tastes great as a topping on pancakes and waffles, as a special side dish with dinner, or as a 'healthier than most' dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
SUB DARK BROWN SUGAR FOR WHITE SUGAR AND YOU HAVE A BIG WOW
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Absolutely awesome!!!!!! Easy & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Perryman Mazzotta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
I've been fixing the apples this way for years. They're great, it's a 'must do'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I agree with Carol V. That much cinnamon would kill me. I use 1 tsp. and everybody loves it. I also add a pinch of nutmeg. During the apple season, we have a bowl of this in the fridge all the time. Good on anything. I have Golden Glow and Harelson apple trees. They both work great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States