Southern French Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Excellent recipe. I added 1/2 cup of katsup and one large minced clove of garlic, but otherwise used the recipe just as shown, except I did use a blender because the mixer just didn't make the grated onion and other ingredients smooth enough. Don't understand why a blender shouldn't be used. Great dip for cooked artichokes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
I loved this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This was tasty - a little sweeter than I expected, but I really enjoyed it. I'm not really sure why the garlic clove is scewered on a toothpick. I really couldn't taste garlic at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Used Ketsup instead of tomato soup, and left out the horseradish. Used it for Taco Salad. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
I used only 3.5 Tb of sugar; 1 Tb (not one ts) prepared horseradish; 2 ts onion powder instead of fresh onion; garlic-flavored red wine vinegar instead of cider vinegar; only 1/4 cup oil; and I added (don't laugh) a dash of red vermouth. Very tasty. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARGARET CARR

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
This is delicious and soooo easy! I toss all ingredients in a screw top jar, just shake to mix. None of that bowl and mixer business. My hubbie requests this by saying 'I'd like to eat more salad'. I cut WAY back on the sugar (3.5 Tblsp) and onion (4-5 Tblsp), and reduced the oil to 1/4C. Didn't have horseradish, so I used cayenne (to taste), and I really like garlic, so I used 1.5 teaspoon of minced. And LOTS of fresh ground pepper. I think I could probably use even less oil to make it healthier. Thanks a lot for the recipe, it is a winner at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KieshaMessina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ardmore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
It was okay I like the bottled dressing better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2004
This is a wonderful salad dressing! Easy to prepare and great tasting too. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Cornelius, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Empty Mayo Jar Dressing

See an ingenious way to get every last bit of mayo from the jar.

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

Absolutely the BEST Blue Cheese Dressing Ever!

See how to make creamy, chunky-style blue cheese salad dressing from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States