Southern French Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2004
This is a wonderful salad dressing! Easy to prepare and great tasting too. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Cornelius, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
It was okay I like the bottled dressing better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
This is delicious and soooo easy! I toss all ingredients in a screw top jar, just shake to mix. None of that bowl and mixer business. My hubbie requests this by saying 'I'd like to eat more salad'. I cut WAY back on the sugar (3.5 Tblsp) and onion (4-5 Tblsp), and reduced the oil to 1/4C. Didn't have horseradish, so I used cayenne (to taste), and I really like garlic, so I used 1.5 teaspoon of minced. And LOTS of fresh ground pepper. I think I could probably use even less oil to make it healthier. Thanks a lot for the recipe, it is a winner at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KieshaMessina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ardmore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
I used only 3.5 Tb of sugar; 1 Tb (not one ts) prepared horseradish; 2 ts onion powder instead of fresh onion; garlic-flavored red wine vinegar instead of cider vinegar; only 1/4 cup oil; and I added (don't laugh) a dash of red vermouth. Very tasty. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARGARET CARR

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Used Ketsup instead of tomato soup, and left out the horseradish. Used it for Taco Salad. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This was tasty - a little sweeter than I expected, but I really enjoyed it. I'm not really sure why the garlic clove is scewered on a toothpick. I really couldn't taste garlic at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
I loved this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Excellent recipe. I added 1/2 cup of katsup and one large minced clove of garlic, but otherwise used the recipe just as shown, except I did use a blender because the mixer just didn't make the grated onion and other ingredients smooth enough. Don't understand why a blender shouldn't be used. Great dip for cooked artichokes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Empty Mayo Jar Dressing

See an ingenious way to get every last bit of mayo from the jar.

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

Absolutely the BEST Blue Cheese Dressing Ever!

See how to make creamy, chunky-style blue cheese salad dressing from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States