Southern Dirty Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
"AWESOME" IS TRULY THE ONLY WAY TO DESCRIBE THIS RECIPE... My granny is deceased & this put me right back in her kitchen. Made this twice first time exactly as recipe says. Second time no chicken livers, I used Italian turkey sausage......Finger Licking Gooood. Thank you for this reminder of Big Momma's House
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I grew up in New Orleans and dirty rice was always a staple dish that was comforting and filling. It is good to finally find a recipe that gets it. I did make a few changes so that this would more closely mimic the rice I grew up with and loved. The rice my mom, aunts, and grandmother made always had bits of chicken in it, ground beef, and more seasonings. So here is what I did: I seasoned 1 bone-in chicken breast and 1 chicken thigh with Old Bay seasoning and then baked them, shredded them and added to the cooked gizzard/liver mixture. I added some browned ground beef. I also added some sauteed green peppers and diced celery. I did everything else the same and this was a winner. Thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by souppotsie
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
This was a winner with my hungry boys! Used mild sausage and ground beef. Also added two ears of corn and two small tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union Springs, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I am so glad I tried this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly and it was totally delicious. Next time I make it I will leave out the gizzards (too much trouble). When I reheated it I drizzled about 1 tsp of oil from a jar of hot giardinara. Wow, just plain delicious. Thank you Kathleen for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
This was gorgeous, sans onions. Unfortunately, the knowledge of what was in it was so off putting, with the help of a critical teen who'd walked in while I was cooking, it was spoiled for me! Neighbours & friends who didn't know the ingredients, adored it too. Next time I'll use ground chicken because the flavour is truly outstanding for those with less squeamish stomachs & fewer graphic teens who love to ruin dinner for everybody. Thanks for the recipe. I'll use it again & again with straight ground chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
Divine! Tastes like New Orleans. Chicken livers are key to the success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
We too wanted to like this dish better (it has so many high ratings.) I found it not enough broth to cook the rice...I think the other ingredients absorbed too much of the liquid. I had to add more broth. Anyway, we've had better dirty rice, but thought we'd try this one for a change. Won't make again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seeker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
This is a keeper! I've been looking for creative things to do with leftover chicken giblets when I roast a chicken, and I think this will be my "go-to" recipe. I halved the recipe, and there was enough liver/gizzard/etc. to "dirty" the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Needs bell pepper! I added bell pepper and omitted the gizzards (don't like the texture), and it was excellent. Also, the addition of green onion was too much. I do appreciate, however, that this recipe uses chicken livers,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Delish! Love the ingredients. This is so easy to make and easier to eat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States