Southern Dill Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
I have been trying and trying to make a good potato salad and finally I have a recipe that has helped me do that. I did make a few changes based on my taste...I left out the celery salt and onion. I used yellow mustard instead of dijon and used celery seed instead of real celery, both of these substitutions were because I didn't have the actual called-for ingredients on hand. I was so happy with the way this turned out..by far the best potato salad I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Catlin
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Great potato salad! Loved all the flavors in this. I did have to make some substitutions based off of what I did or didn't have. I used onion powder instead of onions, and celery seed instead of celery. I also left out the celery salt. This will definitely become my standard potato salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
I made this for a banquet and everyone went nuts about it. I did add a tablespoon of yellow mustard to it just to give it a little more flavor and I peeled the potatoes after I boiled them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I made this for a large group (50 people) and received rave reviews. I followed the recipe exactly except that I used celery seed instead of celery salt since I didn't have any. It was the perfect potato salad, and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sojo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
This was the BEST potatoe salad I have ever made. I did not deviate from the recipe at all and it was FABULOUS!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
This was delicious. We could not stop eating this potato salad. I have also used the sauce (everything except the potato and eggs) to make deviled eggs...Wonderful. It also reminds me of a creamy dill cucumber salad my mom used to make and look forward to slicing some of those up and adding to this sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
This is almost the same potato salad I made this weekend. I added 1 T of yellow mustard in addition to the dijon, as well as a tsp of worcestershire, a tsp of fresh lemon juice and I used FRESH dill, instead of dried (1/4 of a cup). I also think it's easier and faster to cube the potatoes before cooking... boil about 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Burdett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Templeton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
This is Absolutely Delicious, ive never used sour cream in my Potato Salad before this Recipe.. I will Definitely be making this again and again, Thank You for Sharing with us !! Blessing's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Excellent potato salad! My husband said it's the best he's ever had, and he LOVES potato salad! Followed the recipe as written with light sour cream and a mixture of light and regular mayo. Definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bgirldeb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berea, Ohio, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I grew up on the mustard style potato salad and must say that I and my wife really loved this recipe. Some mods based on preferences and what we had: used russets, no eggs, no celery salt. Excellent potato salad. I've been wanting to try a dill weed potato recipe for a while and this one is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Southern Potato Salad

See how to make a Southern-style potato salad that you serve warm.

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States