Southern Dill Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
This was wonderful, I followed the recipe almost exactly - I used fresh dill instead of dried. Reminds me of home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrolivi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alburnett, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Made this twice. I left out the sour cream and doubled the mayo the first time. Second time, I used sour cream and mayo (3/4 cup of each). My family prefers mayo only...try it without the sour cream and see which one you like best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
delicious! Couldn't even wait for it to cool down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
I used fresh dill (I love dill and used quite a bit, to suit my taste) and I didn't have a white onion on hand but a red onion. Also, just because I like pickles in my potato salads, I chopped up a few baby dills, just for some additional "crunch" (although the celery does a fine job of adding texture). My potato salad was "scarfed down" at the recent 4th of July BBQ. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
Great recipe! I made this as written for a family dinner, with the exception of fresh dill instead dried, and I had russet potatoes on hand, which I roughly peeled and cut before boiling. The salad was fantastic, even my mother loved it, and asked for the recipe - and she's been making it "her" way for 40+ years! Mom and I agreed the sour cream is a great addition, it takes out the oily texture of just mayo versions. The salad is light and the if you love dill like I do, it really showcases it. Thank you for sharing the wonderful recipe, its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fatball

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I did not follow the recipe as is. I did not add the eggs, vinegar, or mustard. I am not a fan of vinegar in potato salad. With these changes, I would give this recipe 5 stars for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kklimesh

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Maquoketa, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
This is a very good and simple recipe. We really like it served with barbecue chicken or ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
To be fair I left out half of the ingredients, but I was looking for a simple dill potato salad and this most closely approximated what I was looking for. Everyone loved it. I omitted eggs, onions, celery and celery salt. Didn't need salt or pepper. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
This was a hit! It was my first time ever making potato salad and I chose it because I already had all the ingredients. However, I subsituted Dijon mustard with whole grain mustard and dried dill weed with fresh dill because that's what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
David thought it could have used more eggs (or bigger chucks of egg).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Potato Salad

See how to make a Southern-style potato salad that you serve warm.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States