Southern Dill Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Delicious! Perfect if you don't want a heavy salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I don't typically like potato salad... and I quite enjoy this one! The first time I made it, I followed the recipe exactly, and I thought the sour cream was what really made it outstanding. The second time I made it, I was going to be serving it to someone with a dairy allergy, so I had to use all mayo. Although I went ahead with the recipe, I was unsure if it would be as good without the sour cream. So I was very pleasantly surprised to find that it was still an excellent potato salad that everyone enjoyed! I would probably still prefer to make the sour cream version, if given a choice, but leaving it out is perfectly acceptable as well. Thanks for a recipe that made me give potato salad a second glance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I love potato salads with eggs, and this is the best recipe I have found! Very yummy! My go to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
This is probably the best potato salad I've had. I did make a few modifications since I don't like celery. I used 2 dill pickle spears instead of celery, and I used 1/4 cup fresh dill instead of dried dill because I love fresh dill. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
This was wonderful, I followed the recipe almost exactly - I used fresh dill instead of dried. Reminds me of home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrolivi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alburnett, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Made this twice. I left out the sour cream and doubled the mayo the first time. Second time, I used sour cream and mayo (3/4 cup of each). My family prefers mayo only...try it without the sour cream and see which one you like best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
delicious! Couldn't even wait for it to cool down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
I used fresh dill (I love dill and used quite a bit, to suit my taste) and I didn't have a white onion on hand but a red onion. Also, just because I like pickles in my potato salads, I chopped up a few baby dills, just for some additional "crunch" (although the celery does a fine job of adding texture). My potato salad was "scarfed down" at the recent 4th of July BBQ. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
Great recipe! I made this as written for a family dinner, with the exception of fresh dill instead dried, and I had russet potatoes on hand, which I roughly peeled and cut before boiling. The salad was fantastic, even my mother loved it, and asked for the recipe - and she's been making it "her" way for 40+ years! Mom and I agreed the sour cream is a great addition, it takes out the oily texture of just mayo versions. The salad is light and the if you love dill like I do, it really showcases it. Thank you for sharing the wonderful recipe, its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fatball

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I did not follow the recipe as is. I did not add the eggs, vinegar, or mustard. I am not a fan of vinegar in potato salad. With these changes, I would give this recipe 5 stars for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kklimesh

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Maquoketa, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Potato Salad

See how to make a Southern-style potato salad that you serve warm.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States