Southern Dill Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
This is the best potato salad I've had in a long time. They sour cream perfectly cuts the mayo and the mustard isn't over powering. The only change that I'll probably make the next time I make this is to add dill into the spices and sour cream/mayo blend so there is more of a dill flavor to it (I like dill, it may be too much for others).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
This is so good! I made it exactly as the recipe calls for. Everyone loved it. I think it'd be a good experiment to add some chopped jalapeños just for a small kick. Other than that, pure love. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Simple and delicious!!!! I added more dill...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
I omitted hard-boiled eggs and used low-fat sour cream and mayo to lower the fat content, and this recipe was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by onesmartcookie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
My husband recently went nuts over a potato salad at a BBQ joint (made with sour cream). I went searching and found this recipe - only had russets on hand, halved recipe using 1/2 c each of sour cream and mayo and 1 tsp of vinegar & mustard ... it's phenomenal! Thank you so much for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
this potato salad is so good! I made one simple adjustment which was substituting approx. ¼ cup of fresh dill for the dried dill. the dressing for this is just perfect as is. the celery salt gives it a great flavor my family loves! this salad tasted awesome after just a few hours of chilling in the fridge, so if you don’t have time to chill overnight, do not worry! make it anyway! also worthy of noting is that this is the first potato salad I have ever made. I will make this over and over again from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Wow. I think the exchange went like this. Me: This might be the best potato salad I've ever made. Hubby: This might be the best potato salad I've ever HAD!! Yeah, its that good. Only made a couple changes. First, no celery but did use celery seed. Second, used dill pickle juice instead of the vinegar (I wanted it really "dilly" and might have used a bit more than the recipe) and sprinkled it over the warm, cubed potatoes so they could absorb the flavor. Lastly, had fresh dill in the garden so used about half fresh and half dried (and maybe a little more than the recipe called for. OMG. This will now be my "go to" recipe for potato salad. Just about perfect in every way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Absolutely delicious. I followed the recipe ingredients by ingredients and it is for sure a keeper. Will not change a thing. Husband loved it too. His words "One of my all time favorites. Please save a copy of this recipe so we can have that again". Thank you for sharing NE1canCook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I Love this! I made it today and I had to make a comment!!!! Thank You.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
This potato salad is a great base for whatever tweaks you have in mind. The sour cream/mayo is as good as the reviews stated. Bc of my daughter, I omitted the onion and added some pickle relish. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Southern Potato Salad

See how to make a Southern-style potato salad that you serve warm.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States