Southern Cornbread Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Great recipe. If you add chicken thighs to the pot with your chicken breasts (and increase the water accordingly) the liquid you reserve will be much more rich and flavorful. (You can skin the chicken thighs after cooking and use them in giblet gravy, for chicken salad, or for BBQ chicken sandwiches on a different day. (The meat freezes well to be reheated for sandwiches later.) Doing this made the dressing MUCH more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Houck Fendlason

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
this is NOT southern cornbread dressing. I would not even try this and hope anyone not from the South would think this represents southern cornbread dressing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
To all those who gave their expert opinions that southern dressing does not have bread and only uses boiled eggs....that's just not correct. I am nearly 70 years old and have lived in the south all my life. One of my southern grandmothers always used bread and cornbread mixed. My other southern grandma did not. One used boiled eggs, the other didn't boil hers. To say southerners only cook things one way is to limit their versatility. By the way, both my grandmas made delicious dressing! Since they, too, lived in the south all their lives, I consider theirs authentic southern dressing. I thought this recipe was very good, and a nice change from my personal recipe. Good job, Holly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Followed recipe as submitted. Needed to cook longer than specified. Needed some salt. Too mushy for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
This beats stuffing any day of the week. Tasted almost like Mom used to make and hers was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
My first attempt at homemade dressing, and my family loved it! I didn't have cream of chicken, so I used cream of mushroom, and no chicken breast. Still fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Exactly like my Moms except she uses real butter. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
This was very delicious! I made this recipe exactly the way the recipe says to make it without one deviation. It was perfect! Very easy and worth the time involved. The shredded chicken was a new ingredient for me to add to dressng (stuffing) and I will forever continue to use THIS recipe. The time for cooking states 30 minutes or until golden brown. Definitely go with the "until golden brown" option. You can't go wrong! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oldsmar, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Worked with my own basic cornbread but this was very good. Will definitely make again for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
This was GREAT! My first time making my own stuffing. However I changed it a bit. Instead of the day old bread, I made homemade cornbread using Dixie Lilly's southern cornbread recipe and just let it sit out for a couple hours. I added boiled eggs, and took away the celery. You can also use canned chicken broth if you dont have enough broth left over after boiling your chicken! LOVE THIS RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tommys Baby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Cornbread Dressing

This rich Southern dressing includes chicken and eggs.

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States