Southern Cornbread Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Absolutely fantastic recipe!!! The only change I made was to mix by hand, rather than a potato masher. It gave a chunkier stuffing . . . which I love! It was GREAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This dressing was a hit at my house; it was moist, the way we like it, and had the most wonderful flavor. I omitted the bread and used corn bread only, and also used 1 cup onion, 1 cup celery, wonderful, is all I can say. Nancy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
The eggs was kind of weird, to me, so I did not use; I also made 2 pans of actual cornbread and used no bread (also strange to this Southerner). I put my onion, celery, and a can of corn in the food processor and pulsed til teeny-tiny, so each nite of dressing would have veggies in it. Had to take 2 stars away for each weird ingredient (in my mind casserole has eggs).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrandonsMom11197

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I made this recipe this weekend. I made a couple of additions. I added 1 container of Swanson's chicken stock. Instead of using half cornbread and half loaf bread, I made it from a whole pan of cornbread. Overall, the recipe came out well. I scaled it back to make 9 servings. I used rotisserie chicken in the mixture. I will definitely use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
This was great! The only thing I added that, to me, makes it actually Southern was ground sage. 2 teaspoonsful. You can add it to your taste but this is a really good recipe! If you don't have celery, used cream of celery soup and a little celery salt and it will be just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellidd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Exactly what I was looking for. I made a thin gravy from the chicken broth & it was good with or without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AprilT

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I scaled this back to 9 servings, and made a few changes without compromising the original recipe as written. S a last minute addition, I used one small 6oz can of cooked chicken, an additional egg than the scaled version required-i used 1/2 loaf of white wheat bread & leftover frozen cornbread, so I thought it may have dried out a bit. I ended up using 3cups of ready to serve broth and 1cup of whole milk. I also dotted some butter on top of the 9x13" pan before cooking it @375 for 25mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZINOHIO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
This is THE cornbread dressing for all holiday dinners. Everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fennbaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Delicious! My first time ever making cornbread dressing, my family loved it!! I only used about half a loaf of bread and 4 cups of broth. Cooking time about 45 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I fixed this dressing for Thanksgiving and my family loved it. Just needed to cook longer than recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Southern Cornbread Dressing

This rich Southern dressing includes chicken and eggs.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States