Southern Comfort Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Whatever you do, do not alter the ingredients other than using fresh sweet potatoes (4 lbs) instead of canned. The recipe is perfect! I have been making it for at least 30 years and always use fresh sweet potatoes (peel, cut up the sweet potatoes, cook and mash when they are done.) Remember Southern Comfort comes in 100 proof and 70 proof. I recommend using 100 proof for the best taste. The alcohol evaporates in the baking process and you are left with a lovely taste. Absolutely scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
These were simple to prepare and true to the submitters word was more like a dessert! The southern comfort blended in nicely. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
GREAT I'm giving it 5 stars cause if you don't use quite as much liqour, it's not so thin and it's a great tasting dish that everyone will love, and most won't know have alcohol in it...course I say all this when I use 101 proff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HVYMECH12B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
These were delicious and simple! I did not use the Southern Comfort or pecans. I will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Haines City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
I love this recipe on sweet potatoes, its very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I love sweet potatoes and it's hard to find recipes out there that are not super sweet and still delicious! This is now a favourite at my in-laws! (Whom I found sneaking shots of the leftover Southern Comfort last Thanksgiving!) By the end of the day, I'm delighted because I never have left overs of the dish or the Southernn Comfort and everyone is super happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Salvador, San Salvador, El Salvador
Living In: Garfield Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
A little late with this review, but better then never. Made these potatoes for Thanksgiving. Really didn't like them very much. I may have liked them more with a little less southern comfort. It just tasted like soupy alcohol to me..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
My family loooooves this recipe and I made it for a office party. Co-workers were expecting to be lit afterwards but that's okay!! It was a hit. This year I will be cutting back on the liquor. I'll half it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
A little too much liqour taste for my family. Next time I'll half the amount of Southern.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
This turned out well; although, mashed consistency was a bit "weird" for me... I added about1/2 cup sugar, and it was REALLY sweet! Overall, pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States