Southern Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I used the exact recipe as written except I didn't use the oil I used a splash of cider vinegar as another person suggested. That seemed to be how I remember it the year I lived in N. Carolina, I worked at a hospital and they had collard greens and grits everyday in the cafeteria and I loved them (won't mention the grits don't want to start a war) lol but my grits didn't turn out too well. Should I have cooked them longer? They seem to be missing something but I don't know what, I know it's not heat cause theirs weren't hot in the least, can anyone give me ideas?? I'd appreciate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lmk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Thank you Tina for sharing this recipe! I am cooking this for the second time today :) I made this with smoked ham hocks & a smoked turkey leg last. Today I am doing it with smoked ham hocks & half pack of salted pork. There is enough oil produced from the meat so I do skip the oil. Your recipe has been and will always be my guideline to making amazing collard greens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maipiggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
ham bone, ham hocks, smoked turkey wings all work well for seasoning and can add meat to the greens. no cooking oil, use fat trimmed from smoked ham. love the pot liquor by itself, just crumble some cornbread in a bowl and add the liquor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Stephenson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I follow the recipes & Instructions and now I read the reviews/comments. I didn't add onion tomatoes etc...OMG! I don't know how many starts should I rate...after I add some tomatoes and it looks and taste great....now is 4starts for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Good but needed vinegar for that additional kick. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josephine Wood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Uncasville, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lemoore, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
LOVED IT with the changed I made... I ate it for several days after lol... 1/2 container of chicken stock... lots of red pepper flakes, 2 or so tablespoons of liquid smoke.. 6 slices of bacon lightly precooked 1 or 1 1/2 cups of smoked ham.. pepper, 1/2 cup of diced red onion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shavaun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I followed this recipe to a "T" (except I didn't use 1/4 cup oil, but only splashed in some olive oil -- I know, not very Southern) and these were some of the best collard greens I've made. It may be because of the ham hock "bath" which is made before putting in the greens, but they were not at all bitter. The red pepper was just enough kick so that spicy-adverse people should not complain (and others spice-loving eaters can add more on the side). I definitely would shred in the ham hock meat at the end. I'll be returning to this recipe more often than just New Year's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I have made Collard Greens a few times but I always end up back at a version of this recipe. I add onions to the brine with the Greens as well as fresh serrano peppers (about 6) at the same time. The last 30 minutes is critical. Add the oil. You won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I love this recip the collard are so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Perfect as is...if y'all want sugar...eat cake. Sugar doesn't belong in any vegetable or cornbread...only in deserts or in tea, if you must. Let the flavor of the food come through cleanly...sugar only muddies or camoflages poor quality!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States