Southern Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Good but needed vinegar for that additional kick. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JosieLLL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Uncasville, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lemoore, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
LOVED IT with the changed I made... I ate it for several days after lol... 1/2 container of chicken stock... lots of red pepper flakes, 2 or so tablespoons of liquid smoke.. 6 slices of bacon lightly precooked 1 or 1 1/2 cups of smoked ham.. pepper, 1/2 cup of diced red onion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shavaun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I followed this recipe to a "T" (except I didn't use 1/4 cup oil, but only splashed in some olive oil -- I know, not very Southern) and these were some of the best collard greens I've made. It may be because of the ham hock "bath" which is made before putting in the greens, but they were not at all bitter. The red pepper was just enough kick so that spicy-adverse people should not complain (and others spice-loving eaters can add more on the side). I definitely would shred in the ham hock meat at the end. I'll be returning to this recipe more often than just New Year's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I have made Collard Greens a few times but I always end up back at a version of this recipe. I add onions to the brine with the Greens as well as fresh serrano peppers (about 6) at the same time. The last 30 minutes is critical. Add the oil. You won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I love this recip the collard are so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Perfect as is...if y'all want sugar...eat cake. Sugar doesn't belong in any vegetable or cornbread...only in deserts or in tea, if you must. Let the flavor of the food come through cleanly...sugar only muddies or camoflages poor quality!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Tasty as is but honestly I knew my kids wouldn't eat it. So after tasting the original recipe, I added 2 T sugar, a couple splashes of red wine vinegar, about 1 t Liquid Smoke, and a little bit more water to mix it all together. Tasty and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Awesome. I did add a few more itesm to this recip to makd it like down home greens. I added sugar, a bit of vinegar, which enhanced the taste, some chopped onions, adn sliced hot sausage links. I also added about 1/8 cup of chopped pecans, which is a tip a friend gave me to reduce the strong smell that the green make when you cook them. It works perfect every time. My fiance and daughter both ate these , even though neither one of them like greens, so they say. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
When I make collards I either use smoked ham hocks or a smoked turkey leg and I usually cook the meat until its tender and is falling off the bone. I don't add the oil. but I do add a jalepeno pepper and seasoning salt and black pepper. I also trim my greens real well making sure I remove the thick stem and I rinse several times in salt water (I just sprinkle table salt on the greens and rinse them off sometimes I will let them soak for a little while before I rinse)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I haven't tried this recipe word for word but this is very similar to my collards and they are delicious. Instead of all water I use two parts chicken broth to one part water.It makes an amaazing difference in the flavor. Sometimes I alternate with side meat strips,a dash of sugar but definitely garlic and sauted onions(from bacon grease) added near the end of the cooking. The photo looks yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms Jan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Linwood, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States