Southern Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Scrumptious, and with the exception of the crushed red pepper, exactly how my Granny used to cook hers... and I wouldn't take nuthin' for my Granny's collards (or turnip greens, for that matter)... made these today to have with ham tomorrow night and I found myself eating several forkfuls straight from the pot because they were so good... of course, I called it "tasting", to make sure they were turning out all right... and we usually used some vinegary pepper sauce (not Tabasco... think Texas Pete) on them if we wanted a little zip... sometimes I did, sometimes I didn't... but we never put onion or chopped tomatoes on top of our collards, although we often had onion cut up on the side to go with... try these just the way the recipe is written - with the ham hocks... this isn't something you should try to "healthy up"... this is good old, down-home, Southern cooking at its finest - simple & tasty! P.S. The liquid left in the pot (pot liquor) is divine poured over crumbled up cornbread in a bowl... and it's full of the vitamins that have cooked out of the collards... do try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PinkChampagne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Made this recipe for dinner tonight. And my family really enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
The ingredients are right on, but not the cooking directions. First, wash your ham hocks off and put them in a pot, cover with water, bring to a boil and cook over medium heat for about fifteen minutes and pour the water off. Then, start a fresh pot with water to cover and cook until almost tender, but not quite done. Then, add your remaining ingredients and salt pork with your greens and bring to a boil. Simmer about an hour, or until the greens are the way you like them. Some people like them chewy, so take a few out after about 45 minutes and taste them for tenderness.. These steps are necessary to keep from having your greens too salty. Also, add about three cloves of garlic, chopped and a medium onion, chopped. Note: you must strip the thick stems off the greens and wash them about three times in cold water. People that write reviews don't realize that some inexperienced cooks just might not know how to prepare the greens before cooking them. Also, it's better to add them to a pot with the ham hocks in that's boiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chitowncook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
THIS RECIPE IS ON POINT!! MY ONLY CHANGES WAS TO SLICE UP AN AN ONION AND I USED SMOKED NECK BONES! DELICIOUS! OH AND I LET IT SIMMER FOR MORE THEN 3 HOURS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
I'm a True Southerner,born and raised in New Orleans First thing first they are people who cooks their "Greens" different. Me personally I was taught that you do add a little sugar in your bitter greens. As far as adding raw onions and tomatoes on top of your greens well that's just absurd. I've never heard of anyone going that. So you keep on cooking the way you cook and so will everyone else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cocoa Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
My mother said they were the best greens she had ever eaten. I think it's the pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I used the exact recipe as written except I didn't use the oil I used a splash of cider vinegar as another person suggested. That seemed to be how I remember it the year I lived in N. Carolina, I worked at a hospital and they had collard greens and grits everyday in the cafeteria and I loved them (won't mention the grits don't want to start a war) lol but my grits didn't turn out too well. Should I have cooked them longer? They seem to be missing something but I don't know what, I know it's not heat cause theirs weren't hot in the least, can anyone give me ideas?? I'd appreciate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lmk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Thank you Tina for sharing this recipe! I am cooking this for the second time today :) I made this with smoked ham hocks & a smoked turkey leg last. Today I am doing it with smoked ham hocks & half pack of salted pork. There is enough oil produced from the meat so I do skip the oil. Your recipe has been and will always be my guideline to making amazing collard greens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maipiggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
ham bone, ham hocks, smoked turkey wings all work well for seasoning and can add meat to the greens. no cooking oil, use fat trimmed from smoked ham. love the pot liquor by itself, just crumble some cornbread in a bowl and add the liquor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I follow the recipes & Instructions and now I read the reviews/comments. I didn't add onion tomatoes etc...OMG! I don't know how many starts should I rate...after I add some tomatoes and it looks and taste great....now is 4starts for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States