Southern Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
I really enjoyed this for as easy quick, taste really good Instead of lime i used lemon i think it would taste even better with some avocado or even feta cheese crumbles yummmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
I was worried about it being too tart, so added extra tomatoes and dried cranberries. My guests loved it. For me, it tasted better the next day when I added a little fresh coriander.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
I hate giving bad reviews, however, I was sadly disappointed with this recipe. It was extremely tart. This should not be called "coleslaw." Perhaps if one would reduce the amount of lime it would be more palatable. Reminds me more of a side salad served in a Mexican restaraunt. Will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasco, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Not bad at all. Really nice to see the lack of any sugar. Even the lime wasn't overpowering. will try a this again. maybe with a hit of some chilli Oh, kind of eye balled everything, was bit heavy of the tomatoes. lots of Fresh ground pepper and a hit if world class Fleur de Sel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iam Greg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
I wanted to make a healthy cole slaw with what was on hand, so I gave this a try. I had a bag of cole slaw mix and some fresh garden tomatoes. I didn't have lime juice, so I used lemon juice. I added about 2 TB of agave nectar since many reviewers said it was too tart. I let it sit in the fridge for about 30 minutes while I finished dinner. It was pretty good, and would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
this was a great hit at a family dinner so much different then the normal mayo coleslaw
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TiNkEr BeLl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Williams Lake, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Squamish, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I was pleased with the results - it tasted like I thought it would... No surprises. I didn't measure, I did everything by taste. Better than creamy coleslaw!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
This is awesome. I grew up eating lots of salads with plenty of lemon and lime; I absolutely hate mayo and the sweetness that goes with it in coleslaw. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orosi, California, USA
Living In: Brawley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
it was okay. not all i had hoped for, but it was okay
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Nana's Southern Coleslaw

A creamy, tangy, vintage slaw handed down through the generations.

12-Second Coleslaw

See how to make amazing 12-second coleslaw…in about 42 seconds.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States