Southern Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
Many coleslaw recipes have either a mayo based dressing or a vinegar based dressing. The use of both in this recipe is outstanding. However, as much as I love bacon and hard boiled eggs, I found that they were out of place in coleslaw. Also you MUST use celery seed in any slaw. Just my personal take, but this was a great place to start..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TX_Brad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Far beyond the scope of grocery store coleslaw. I wanted this to go with a pork BBQ, and it fits the bill perfectly with my favorite barbeque sauce. Definitely different, though I agree with the review that tells to add celery seed. I added carrots and a little minced red onion to the mix as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Summersville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I omitted the eggs as I didn't like the idea of them with the other ingredients. Glad I did - this is some really really good slaw. Definitely refrigerate and leave for a few hours before you eat it - it's not nearly as good straight out of the mixing bowl. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
The dressing on this slaw is wonderful. We liked the slaw, but found the hard boiled egg a little different. Not bad - just something we're not used to in coleslaw. The bacon was a great addition. Yes, I will be making this one again. Thanks Angiee for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
So good! i used apple cider vinegar instead bc thats all i had. Still tasted great! If you need to substitute its still fantastic. Also didnt put in the eggs. didnt want to take the time to boil the eggs :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
I ommitted the egg and bacon, just not my thing for a cole slaw. I also added celery seed. With the changes it is just like the cole slaw i used to have as a kid!! delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
i wish i could give 3 and a half stars for this. the best way to describe it was.. pretty and interesting tasting. i made enough for 20 servings and there wasnt much left but i did see a table next to us who had a serving of it barely touched. 4 at our table had it and all said they prefer a regular coleslaw with a mayo/vinegar/sugar dressing. the egg was kind of strange but the bacon is ok i used dijon mustard because i didnt have grainy but i dont think it changed the result that much. thanks but it was just ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
not a hit in this house - sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
This recipe is quite good. I, too, omitted the eggs and bacon and added the celery seeds. I also added about 1/2 cup of finely chopped onions and 2 teaspoons of smoked paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
followed the suggestions of other writers and omitted eggs and bacon and it was delicious. I serve this over Memphis style barbecue on Hawaiian rolls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Enchantress1469

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Nana's Southern Coleslaw

A creamy, tangy, vintage slaw handed down through the generations.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Restaurant-Style Coleslaw I

A creamy, sweet-tart salad that tastes like a popular chicken restaurant’s slaw.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States