Southern Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
Many coleslaw recipes have either a mayo based dressing or a vinegar based dressing. The use of both in this recipe is outstanding. However, as much as I love bacon and hard boiled eggs, I found that they were out of place in coleslaw. Also you MUST use celery seed in any slaw. Just my personal take, but this was a great place to start..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TX_Brad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Far beyond the scope of grocery store coleslaw. I wanted this to go with a pork BBQ, and it fits the bill perfectly with my favorite barbeque sauce. Definitely different, though I agree with the review that tells to add celery seed. I added carrots and a little minced red onion to the mix as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Summersville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I omitted the eggs as I didn't like the idea of them with the other ingredients. Glad I did - this is some really really good slaw. Definitely refrigerate and leave for a few hours before you eat it - it's not nearly as good straight out of the mixing bowl. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
The dressing on this slaw is wonderful. We liked the slaw, but found the hard boiled egg a little different. Not bad - just something we're not used to in coleslaw. The bacon was a great addition. Yes, I will be making this one again. Thanks Angiee for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
not a hit in this house - sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
i wish i could give 3 and a half stars for this. the best way to describe it was.. pretty and interesting tasting. i made enough for 20 servings and there wasnt much left but i did see a table next to us who had a serving of it barely touched. 4 at our table had it and all said they prefer a regular coleslaw with a mayo/vinegar/sugar dressing. the egg was kind of strange but the bacon is ok i used dijon mustard because i didnt have grainy but i dont think it changed the result that much. thanks but it was just ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
So good! i used apple cider vinegar instead bc thats all i had. Still tasted great! If you need to substitute its still fantastic. Also didnt put in the eggs. didnt want to take the time to boil the eggs :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
I ommitted the egg and bacon, just not my thing for a cole slaw. I also added celery seed. With the changes it is just like the cole slaw i used to have as a kid!! delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I made the several times and each time it gets better and better. My whole family love it, even my granddaughters. Thank you for the side dish that some times become the main dish. Really in enjoyed this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOLJO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
followed the suggestions of other writers and omitted eggs and bacon and it was delicious. I serve this over Memphis style barbecue on Hawaiian rolls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Enchantress1469

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nana's Southern Coleslaw

A creamy, tangy, vintage slaw handed down through the generations.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Restaurant-Style Coleslaw I

A creamy, sweet-tart salad that tastes like a popular chicken restaurant’s slaw.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States