Southern Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
This recipe is quite good. I, too, omitted the eggs and bacon and added the celery seeds. I also added about 1/2 cup of finely chopped onions and 2 teaspoons of smoked paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
followed the suggestions of other writers and omitted eggs and bacon and it was delicious. I serve this over Memphis style barbecue on Hawaiian rolls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Enchantress1469

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I made the several times and each time it gets better and better. My whole family love it, even my granddaughters. Thank you for the side dish that some times become the main dish. Really in enjoyed this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOLJO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2012
I ommitted the egg and bacon, just not my thing for a cole slaw. I also added celery seed. With the changes it is just like the cole slaw i used to have as a kid!! delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
So good! i used apple cider vinegar instead bc thats all i had. Still tasted great! If you need to substitute its still fantastic. Also didnt put in the eggs. didnt want to take the time to boil the eggs :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
i wish i could give 3 and a half stars for this. the best way to describe it was.. pretty and interesting tasting. i made enough for 20 servings and there wasnt much left but i did see a table next to us who had a serving of it barely touched. 4 at our table had it and all said they prefer a regular coleslaw with a mayo/vinegar/sugar dressing. the egg was kind of strange but the bacon is ok i used dijon mustard because i didnt have grainy but i dont think it changed the result that much. thanks but it was just ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
not a hit in this house - sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
The dressing on this slaw is wonderful. We liked the slaw, but found the hard boiled egg a little different. Not bad - just something we're not used to in coleslaw. The bacon was a great addition. Yes, I will be making this one again. Thanks Angiee for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I omitted the eggs as I didn't like the idea of them with the other ingredients. Glad I did - this is some really really good slaw. Definitely refrigerate and leave for a few hours before you eat it - it's not nearly as good straight out of the mixing bowl. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Far beyond the scope of grocery store coleslaw. I wanted this to go with a pork BBQ, and it fits the bill perfectly with my favorite barbeque sauce. Definitely different, though I agree with the review that tells to add celery seed. I added carrots and a little minced red onion to the mix as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Summersville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Nana's Southern Coleslaw

A creamy, tangy, vintage slaw handed down through the generations.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Restaurant-Style Coleslaw I

A creamy, sweet-tart salad that tastes like a popular chicken restaurant’s slaw.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States