Southern Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
when do you add the vegetables and what kinds? I see carrots and peas but is there anything else? potatoes, celery?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole Salgat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I've made this twice for family dinner and it's a huge hit! Everybody loves it! I use boneless chicken breasts instead of bone in and it still turned out great! Also, instead of making 12 dumplings I made almost triple that amount, they were just a little smaller.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Oh my goodness, was this ever tasty! It makes a lot, so we had leftovers, which were just as good warmed up. I added some frozen peas before putting in the dumplings, and next time, I think I'll add cubes of carrot, too. This is definitely a keeper of a recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I decided to use bisquick instead of mixing all the other stuff,was much easier.The box said to drop dumplings in boiling stew,turn down heat and simmer 10 minutes then put lid on and simmer 10 minutes. They puffed up beautifully and cooked through in the designated time the recipe called for. Hope that helps with those that couldn't get theirs to cook through. Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessicaone

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This is our go - to recipe for Chicken and Dumplings. I also add chopped carrots, celery, fresh mushrooms and four cloves garlic because we like the vegetables in ours. This is the best comfort food. We always get rave reviews when we make this for friends too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I made a couple of modifications, which I highly recommend and the result was exactly what I was craving; the perfect wintry day comfort food! I added 4 carrots and 4 sticks of celery, because I just love the veggies in this soup. I used 4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts and substituted lard for the shortening. Lastly, I used 2 cans of cream of chicken soup (look for the kind with herbs) and eliminated the water and the salt. Thanks!! I will definitely make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Followed the directions and it was really good. Family enjoyed. Will make again. Freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I tried this recipe and it was wonderful! I basically used the same recipe but adjusted the milk as needed. I also laid out floured wax paper and rolled my dough out very thin. Taking a sharp knife I sliced into small strips and added one at a time to my broth, as the pot got fuller I used a spoon to press them down gently. I also had baked a whole chicken for dinner a couple of nights prior and took the chicken off the bones, boiled the bones to use broth for dumplings. This tasted just like my Mom's dumplings, with a little adjusting on seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Great tasting easy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Taste is good and it's easy to make, but the dumplings (even after reading the addendum by the submitter) leave a lot to be desired. Tastes like Dinty Moore Chicken 'n dumplings out of a can. While the dumplings from this recipe WILL rise, if you cook for 10-20 minutes, they'll absorb the broth and fall. I suggest half cooking the dumplings in the oven first to get them to rise, then dumping them in broth 5-10 mins before you want to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States