Southern Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Awesome recipe. First time making dumplings from scratch and they came out very good. My husband said it tastes just like his grandmas except she didnt take the chicken off the bone just served it whole in the soup.. I think I will do that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess124

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
I have been trying to make my Memaw's chicken and dumplings forever. These are the only thing that have come close! Her recipe doesn't even taste as close!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Very flavorful, just like my Grandma use to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WallyPres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
This is my favorite recipe for chicken and dumplings, I have made this several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Absolutely delicious!! I altered it some by adding 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper and made the dumplings about half the size as originally suggested. My family loved this and it is going in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lake Mary, Florida, USA
Living In: Piedmont, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
First attempt ever to make this and it turned out awesome. Used boneless chicken breasts and still turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I'm the submitter of the recipe. The dumpling preparation is all wrong my version is different. You work the dumpling dough adding a bit more milk if needed to just make the dough come together. Then ROLL the dough out to about a 1/4" thickness. Then using a pizza cutter cut the dumplings into squares. DO NOT DIVIDE DOUGH INTO 12 PIECES. You will end up with undercooked dumplings. This is way too much dough to divide into 12 pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by staceywatts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I've been making this for years and my family loves it. I do not use the cream of chicken as I thicken my base with broth and a a little cornstarch. I also add shredded carrots and if hubby request I add potatos. I use 1whole chicken. This is really good for those wintery days. For more kick add a shake of dried hot pepper, garlic, old bay
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
My husband LOVED this! He is from the south and living in NY he doesn't get "real" dumplings. Thanks for sharing! It will def be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I just made this for my family and it was absolutely delicious! I did make more dumplings because I like lots. Next time I think I'll add carrots and celery too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States