Southern Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I had to use cream of mushroom soup as they dont have canned chicken soup at my local supermarket! (in norway). But it was very good, added some veg obviously as on its own it isnt a "proper" meal and is beige in colour lol will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This was the first time I ever made dumplings from scratch. What a disappointment! Due to bad weather, I got home late and did not have time to read the reviews. So, I followed the recipe as written. Huge mistake! An hour after dropping the dough into the soup, the dumplings were still raw! Cut them in half, put them back in for another 20 minutes. Still raw. In half AGAIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
First attempt ever to make this and it turned out awesome. Used boneless chicken breasts and still turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Very good! I cheated though and used canned Biscuits, I cut them into 6ths (because I bought the jumbo ones) It turned out great! And was so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv4alwayz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I'm the submitter of the recipe. The dumpling preparation is all wrong my version is different. You work the dumpling dough adding a bit more milk if needed to just make the dough come together. Then ROLL the dough out to about a 1/4" thickness. Then using a pizza cutter cut the dumplings into squares. DO NOT DIVIDE DOUGH INTO 12 PIECES. You will end up with undercooked dumplings. This is way too much dough to divide into 12 pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by staceywatts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
The chicken was delicious, the dumplings as written (we made 12) took WAY longer than 20 minutes to cook through. After 45 mins we decided to cut them in half and cook them (it was getting close to 8pm and the husband was starving!) We rated the chicken about a 5 star but the dumplings about a 2. We also had to add more milk to the mix in order for the dough to bind together (it was really flaky). We'll try again but make mini dumplings next time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
I have been trying to make my Memaw's chicken and dumplings forever. These are the only thing that have come close! Her recipe doesn't even taste as close!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Awesome recipe. First time making dumplings from scratch and they came out very good. My husband said it tastes just like his grandmas except she didnt take the chicken off the bone just served it whole in the soup.. I think I will do that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess124

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I just made this for my family and it was absolutely delicious! I did make more dumplings because I like lots. Next time I think I'll add carrots and celery too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Very good dumpling recipe. I like to add carrots to the boil just because I like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Damascus, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States