Southern Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 16, 2012
This my first attempt at making chicken n' dumplings and it was FANTASTIC! To start, I had to pour about 5 cups of water in the pot when I first started cooking the chicken breasts (I used 2) to make sure there was enough liquid to cover them. Therefore,when the recipe asks for additional water when you start to cook the dumplings, I didn't add anymore water. After 20 minutes of simmering the shredded chicken and dumplings, my pot looked like soup. I thought something was wrong so I just let it simmer for about an hour total. A lot of the water cooked down. After simmering for an hour, I turned the stove off and just let the pot sit for about another 20 minutes, stirring occasionally. In the end, the chicken and dumplings thickened up just right and was no longer soupy. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
This is my favorite recipe for chicken and dumplings, I have made this several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Very flavorful, just like my Grandma use to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WallyPres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I made this using homemade chicken stock, adding diced celery and carrots. I didn't have time to do the dumplings so I followed one of the other reviews and did canned biscuits (large ones) cut into six wedges. I dropped them one at a time into the simmering broth, put the lid on and cooked for 20 minutes....not done......cooked another 10 minutes, still a little soggy in the middle but the taste wasn't bad. Next time I'll try the dumpling recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This is a very tasty recipe. I agree with other reviewers to omit the final 2 cups at the dumpling stage. The next time I plan to add some additional veggies ,corn starch and a couple teaspoons of marjoram. Be sure to read the writers amended dumplings instructions dated Aug. 16th 2010 as the dumplings turned out well and cooked with the intended outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This recipe is De Lish. Made it for my husband and son, They could not eat it fast enough. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
My family loved this recipe! It had a real nice flavor and so easy to make. I added carrots and celery in with the onions. My only concern was that it might have been too watery. I covered the chicken with 32 oz of broth and a little extra water. Then afterwards, I added the one can of soup. It looked watery then, but it still called for 2 more cups of water. I thought maybe the dumplings were going to soak up a lot of broth and that is why it called for so much liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Living In: Newburgh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Absolutely delicious!! I altered it some by adding 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper and made the dumplings about half the size as originally suggested. My family loved this and it is going in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lake Mary, Florida, USA
Living In: Piedmont, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I had to use cream of mushroom soup as they dont have canned chicken soup at my local supermarket! (in norway). But it was very good, added some veg obviously as on its own it isnt a "proper" meal and is beige in colour lol will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This was the first time I ever made dumplings from scratch. What a disappointment! Due to bad weather, I got home late and did not have time to read the reviews. So, I followed the recipe as written. Huge mistake! An hour after dropping the dough into the soup, the dumplings were still raw! Cut them in half, put them back in for another 20 minutes. Still raw. In half AGAIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States