Southern Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
This is very good. I made it for several girlfriends and everyone loved it and wanted the recipe. I made croissant sandwiches and added slivered almonds instead of cashews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2003
Yumm! Similar to a Southern Living recipe that I lost. I used pecans instead of cashews for a real southern touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
This was such a great chicken salad recipe! The only thing I did differently was to use pre-cooked chicken, so I didn't need the white wine and other ingredients used to saute the chicken. Other than that, it was absolutely excellent! Everyone at the party loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Interesting ingredients that surprisingly, go well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReiGuzu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2005
I stuck to the spirit of the recipe but did make some alterations. I did as others here did and subbed half of the mayo for sour cream. I used low fat mayo and fat free sour cream. I made this as a layered salad rather than mixing it all together, so I thinned out the dressing with a bit of vegetable stock and added a bit more seasoning. I used a big pile of lettuce for the base, scattered the celery, grapes and some broccoli slaw over that, topped that with some leftover shredded chicken, drizzled on the dressing and sprinkled it with cashews. Very tasty. I had this salad with a corn muffin and was very satisfied for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
I didn't bother with the wine, and I used torn up up Bibb lettuce leaves. Although next time I would omit the grapes, this was pretty good. Thanks, Lyn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
I did as another rater suggested and used half of the mayonnaise called for and used sour cream to substitute for the other half of the mayonnaise. The result was a rich, but lighter taste. Great served on a croissant!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
This chicken salad is wonderfull. I made a large batch to have through out the week for lunch. Like alot of others I did 1/2 mayo & 1/2 sour cream. My husband likes it as well but he felt that it was missing something & he thought it might be relish. So next time i'll try it with relish. I will for sure make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shine124

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Rated a 4 only because I used 1/2 sour cream and 1/2 mayo instead of all mayo. Really yummy salad - on bread or on lettuce. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
This is a beautiful chicken salad. The crunch of the celery along with the salty cashews and sweetness of the grapes makes for a nice combination of flavors and textures. I found the amount of dressing to be excessive and only used maybe a third, if that. I hate to even say this but I did end up adding a tiny bit of seasoned salt to the final dish - it really added a lot to this recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States