Southern Chicken Fried Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2006
I used cubed steak rather then veal. I also used a electric skillet so I could control the temp better. I set it to 350 and didn't put the steaks in till it was at that temp. I cooked them about 10 mins on each side. I didn't have any problems with the coating falling off. Served with mashed potatoes and a veg...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
This is not traditional southern chicken fried steak--it's more like wiener schnizel and would be good with fresh lemon juice squeezed on after cooking. Traditional chicken fried steak uses top round or bottom round steak, sometimes cube steaks, and is always served with cream gravy, mashed potatoes or rice, and turnip greens (I prefer fresh spinach cooked). Some people used a combination of beef broth and milk in the cream gravy, but the traditional cream gravy uses only milk and is well peppered and salted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
I've tried several Chicken Fried Steak recipes and this is a good one! Don't forget to double dip in your eggs and flour. I added some garlic powder and a pinch of cayenne pepper to the flour for a little pow. Mashed potatos and gravy are a must with this (and corn for us). Tonight I used a can of cream of mushroom soup for my quickie gravy. Cooked in one of my trusty cast iron skillets made this a lip smacker with no leftovers. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miketheday

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Haven, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2004
Virginia, this is a wonderful recipe for sure. My daughter, her boyfriend and his parents were headed back from Six Flags last night and while on the phone I asked my daughter what "Arnie" wanted for dinner Sunday night. He proclaimed "Chicken Fried Steak"! I've made it before, but wanted to find a different recipe and I'm so glad I did. It was a huge hit, for he's the pickiest twenty year old I've ever met. In my flour mixture I used garlic and onion powders, paprika, salt and pepper and a bit of cayenne. If it wasn't for the fact that he also requested fetticini alfredo (low fat dinner right?) I would have used some of the drippings to make a gravy. After coating the cube steaks I used for this dish, I let it sit for about ten minutes and had no problem with the breading falling off while frying. Thanks again Virginia for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
This was good. My husband loved it. I used cubed steaks instead and added a lil onion powder and garlic powder to the flour. I made sure my oil was hot before placing steak into it that way the coating stays put and doesn't come off. I'll be making this again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Made this tonight for dinner, and my husband LOVED it! I also made poor man's gravy and mashed potatoes to go with the steak. Nice comfort food for the winter months!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
One correction... I am from Texas home of the chicken fried steak! Chicken fried steak is tenderized flank steak or strip steak cooked like fried chicken. You make chicken fried veal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
This was a good base-recipe, but it wouldn't have come out half so well if I hadn't made it with a lot of changes. I scaled the recipe down to two servings and mixed 2 teaspoons of garlic powder, a teaspoon of onion powder, 1/2 teaspoon salt, and a dash each of paprika and cayenne pepper into the flour before breading. Instead of frying in oil, I liberally coated the pan with olive oil cooking spray, and I used steak instead of veal. I cooked each steak for four minutes on each side, and that was perfect. My husband was *thrilled.* The only problem was that I forgot that I wouldn't be able to make gravy without the oil, and the steaks would have been best with a gravy of some sort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KychynWych

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wrightwood, California, USA
Living In: Memphis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
I don't know if you can say that I actually made this recipe or not. I used the idea of it though. Read a lot of other reviews on adding ingredients for flavor and wasn't going to take the chance of my first attempt at chicken fried steak to not have flavor. I added paprika, Italian seasoning, red pepper flakes, garlic powder, and seasoning salt along with the salt and pepper that was mentioned. I fried mine in my electric skillet with "EVOO" at 375. Fried to a golden brown. Yum The family loved it and that says a lot for my picky 7 year old, he said it was "Awesome".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
My family loved this. I did add some seasonings to the flour and also salt and pepper to the cube steaks I used. The kids asked for seconds! I will use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States