Southern Chicken Fried Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
This is not traditional southern chicken fried steak--it's more like wiener schnizel and would be good with fresh lemon juice squeezed on after cooking. Traditional chicken fried steak uses top round or bottom round steak, sometimes cube steaks, and is always served with cream gravy, mashed potatoes or rice, and turnip greens (I prefer fresh spinach cooked). Some people used a combination of beef broth and milk in the cream gravy, but the traditional cream gravy uses only milk and is well peppered and salted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
I made this dish for my roommates this evening. I served it with fresh cooked spinish and and my secret recipe garlic mashed potatoes. It was wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
MMM This was so good, I used beef cubed steaks and used a blend of seasoning salt, pepper, and flour for the breading.very good, next time i will pound thin and add meat tenderizer so they are not as tough..thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
This was the first time either I or my husband ever tried chicken fried steak and it was GREAT!!!! I will definitely make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mantua, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clementon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
This is SO good! I used beef cubed steak in lieu of veal and added garlic powder and paprika. What a great recipe! I made gravy, too, and it was perfect with buttery mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachakno

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Priest River, Idaho, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
Great and super easy recipie! My family, including my picky husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2004
Great tasting recipe! Too bad it doesn't look the same. I made this with cubed beef steaks and my own blend of seasonings including garlic powder, onion powder, salt, and pepper. I made a cream gravy on the side. My husband and I both enjoyed this dish, but my only complaint would be that it didn't brown beautifully at all. It was a ruddy instead of golden brown. Could it be the egg?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Fultondale, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2004
Virginia, this is a wonderful recipe for sure. My daughter, her boyfriend and his parents were headed back from Six Flags last night and while on the phone I asked my daughter what "Arnie" wanted for dinner Sunday night. He proclaimed "Chicken Fried Steak"! I've made it before, but wanted to find a different recipe and I'm so glad I did. It was a huge hit, for he's the pickiest twenty year old I've ever met. In my flour mixture I used garlic and onion powders, paprika, salt and pepper and a bit of cayenne. If it wasn't for the fact that he also requested fetticini alfredo (low fat dinner right?) I would have used some of the drippings to make a gravy. After coating the cube steaks I used for this dish, I let it sit for about ten minutes and had no problem with the breading falling off while frying. Thanks again Virginia for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2003
My husband loves chicken fried steak but I never knew how to make it until now. This recipe is wonderful, simple and he loves it so now I have to make it at least 2 times a month. Thanks a bunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
This was good. My husband loved it. I used cubed steaks instead and added a lil onion powder and garlic powder to the flour. I made sure my oil was hot before placing steak into it that way the coating stays put and doesn't come off. I'll be making this again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States