Southern Chicken Fried Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Fabulous! Just like down home in North Carolina. Make white gravy, mashed potatoes and fried apspargus. Hubby raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I'd never had chicken fried steak before, so maybe I don't know what's what, but I wasn't too impressed. It was ok, but didn't live up to the hype.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Made this tonight for dinner, and my husband LOVED it! I also made poor man's gravy and mashed potatoes to go with the steak. Nice comfort food for the winter months!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
This was fabulous! I made it for my husband & my father (who doesn't get to eat southern cooking very often). Bith of them raved about it. I paired it with mashed potatoes & fried ocra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
I've tried several Chicken Fried Steak recipes and this is a good one! Don't forget to double dip in your eggs and flour. I added some garlic powder and a pinch of cayenne pepper to the flour for a little pow. Mashed potatos and gravy are a must with this (and corn for us). Tonight I used a can of cream of mushroom soup for my quickie gravy. Cooked in one of my trusty cast iron skillets made this a lip smacker with no leftovers. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miketheday

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Haven, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
WOW! This was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
I used cubed steak rather then veal. I also used a electric skillet so I could control the temp better. I set it to 350 and didn't put the steaks in till it was at that temp. I cooked them about 10 mins on each side. I didn't have any problems with the coating falling off. Served with mashed potatoes and a veg...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
I LIKED THIS RECIPE VERY MUCH. IT DIDN'T LEAVE THE MEAT ALL DRIED OUT OR TOUGH LIKE SOME OTHER RECIPES AND METHODS OF COOKING STEAK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
This is not traditional southern chicken fried steak--it's more like wiener schnizel and would be good with fresh lemon juice squeezed on after cooking. Traditional chicken fried steak uses top round or bottom round steak, sometimes cube steaks, and is always served with cream gravy, mashed potatoes or rice, and turnip greens (I prefer fresh spinach cooked). Some people used a combination of beef broth and milk in the cream gravy, but the traditional cream gravy uses only milk and is well peppered and salted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
I made this dish for my roommates this evening. I served it with fresh cooked spinish and and my secret recipe garlic mashed potatoes. It was wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States