Southern Chicken Fried Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
I would not normally make this, but my husband loves chicken fried steak and asked me to make it. The recipe was easy to follow and the meat came out nicely. My 5 year old ate it and my husband seemed pretty pleased, although "it's still not like mom's" grrrrrr....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebelmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
came out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
one of our favorites
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I've tried to make Chicken Fried Steak a couple times before from different recipes and they have always turned out very poorly. But this one was GREAT! The only thing I changed was the kind of meat and the temperature setting, due to the type of meat. I used T-bone steak and medium heat setting, and it turned out so tender and delicious! My picky 3 year old son loved it so much he asked for seconds. And it was so tender that he was able to chew it with no problem. And the fact that this recipe was so easy was even better, THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Henderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
This was good, but not as good as others I have tried. I used beef cube steak rather than veal, but that is just my personal taste preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
I threw in a little cornmeal into the flour and fancy schmany garlic and italian herbs and it just kind of felt...blah still. I made up my own gravy to top it off, but the whole thing just needed something else. It wasn't terrible, but it just needed a little something more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Very good recipe. I used another reviewers idea of using an electric skillet set at 350. Fried for 10 minutes on each side and turned out great. I thought the color was very nice. I served this with homemade mashed potatos, packaged country gravy, and steamed veggies. Thanks so much! Oh yeah, I forgot to mention I used cube steak instead of veal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CariMel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
I am giving this 4 stars because I followed the changes of some other reviewers. But it turned out great so bump it up to a 5 with changes. I added the garlic and onion powder plus a dash of cayenne pepper. Used tenderized cube steak. Double dipped in the egg and flour mixture. Used a McCormick's country gravy just to save some time(daughter likes to make that). It went over great with everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avon, Indiana, USA
Living In: Yuba City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
This was a good base-recipe, but it wouldn't have come out half so well if I hadn't made it with a lot of changes. I scaled the recipe down to two servings and mixed 2 teaspoons of garlic powder, a teaspoon of onion powder, 1/2 teaspoon salt, and a dash each of paprika and cayenne pepper into the flour before breading. Instead of frying in oil, I liberally coated the pan with olive oil cooking spray, and I used steak instead of veal. I cooked each steak for four minutes on each side, and that was perfect. My husband was *thrilled.* The only problem was that I forgot that I wouldn't be able to make gravy without the oil, and the steaks would have been best with a gravy of some sort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KychynWych

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wrightwood, California, USA
Living In: Memphis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States