Southern Chicken Fried Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Where's the gravy?? I can't give it more than 2 stars without the gravy recipe. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
I don't know if you can say that I actually made this recipe or not. I used the idea of it though. Read a lot of other reviews on adding ingredients for flavor and wasn't going to take the chance of my first attempt at chicken fried steak to not have flavor. I added paprika, Italian seasoning, red pepper flakes, garlic powder, and seasoning salt along with the salt and pepper that was mentioned. I fried mine in my electric skillet with "EVOO" at 375. Fried to a golden brown. Yum The family loved it and that says a lot for my picky 7 year old, he said it was "Awesome".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Just didn't do it for me. I thought it lacked flavor. Will try it again in the near future with adjustments to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Belmond, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
just getting around to rating this..ive been making it this way for a while now, ive only ever used cube steak and i have to add alot more seasonings than called for, garlic, red pepper, chili powder, onion powder salt pepper and cajun seasoning. its always devoured at my house and we do make gravy to go on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tashaboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
I used chuck steak for this recipe. I also added garlic, oninon, paprika and cayenne. I still had no flavor to it. I had to drown it in country gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I thought this turned out very yummy. One major tip - pound the crud out of the meat and get it as thin as you can. Otherwise you keep cooking it to get the meat done and burn the coating in the meantime. One reviewer said this was more like schnitzel, actually it is more like schnitzel only because you are pan frying it. If you want the traditional style chick fried steak you gotta deep fry it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bend, Washington, USA
Living In: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
i've made this one a couple times! i'm not the best at frying but i get better everytime i make this one. Have it on a sunday morning with some scrambled eggs or for dinner with some mashed potatos. i doubled the seasoning and Triple Dipped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
One correction... I am from Texas home of the chicken fried steak! Chicken fried steak is tenderized flank steak or strip steak cooked like fried chicken. You make chicken fried veal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
The first time I have ever tried chicken fried anything. Im not very experienced but this was very easy to make. I used beef instead of veal, and added extra seasining to the flour for more taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Pasadena, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
I would not normally make this, but my husband loves chicken fried steak and asked me to make it. The recipe was easy to follow and the meat came out nicely. My 5 year old ate it and my husband seemed pretty pleased, although "it's still not like mom's" grrrrrr....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebelmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States