Southern Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Excellent, I used "I can't believe it's not butter" instead of real butter...i also cooked with the lid on for 30 mins, then removed the lid to cook for the last 30 (on low heat) to allow the sweet potatoes / sugar to caramelize! i don't think the vanilla was necessary so i didn't add it, the nutmeg and cinnamon were more than enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Good recipe! Very simple. My wife said it was better than hers and she's from the south! Give it a try with no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Whole family loved this. I made it healthier by using cocunut oil instead of butter/margerine. Also used 1/2 cup raw sugar and 1/8 cup Stevia instead of the 2 cups sugar. It was plenty sweet that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
I probably didn't do something right but, these ended up way too sweet and they didn't turn hard around the edges it was sorta soggy, I don't think I would try it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
This recipe was greeeeeeeeat the only thing is it was a little too loose , I would suggest instead of covering the dish let simmer uncovered the last 30-35 minute until done , also like some others I totally forgot the vanilla extract because I was too busy taste testing, but overall great recipe, I definitely will be making this recipe again soooooooon , I will tweek it a little , I would advise any first timers please follow recipe instructions then make changes the way you see fit. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
For Thanksgiving my family used to by these frozen bagged candied sweet potatoes. This past year they were unable to find them in the grocery stores so I went out on a limb and tried this recipe. PERFECT! I am now in charge of the candied sweet potatoes every year. EVERYONE LOVED THEM! Even my sister who doesn't like them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This was good. Great flavor and potatoes were nice and tender! YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Cook in a skillet? who knew? Worked millions times better than my method I've used for years. So much easier than boiling, transferring, baking, lots of dishes later. Good too, though I forgot the vanilla at the end. Rave reviews from family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
This is def one of my favorite recipes on this site. My mother-in-law asked me how I made it and that's the first time in 11years that she complimented me on anything I made. I do use brown sugar and add pecans at the end and bake it for about 10 minutes.. mmm the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States