Southern Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I found this recipe years ago and I LOVE it. Was never a fan of sweet potatoes until I made them like this now we make then at least four times a year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Salt is important for potatoes of any color! If you use unsalted butter please add salt, it helps to reach the sweetness without adding tons of sugar! Loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOUTHPAWCOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Just made these a few minutes ago. Stupid delicious. Used 1/2 brown sugar, 1/2 white sugar. Cooked in Dutch oven until almost fork tender then cranked up heat until cinnamon sugar mix became syrup. Kids loved 'em.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bacabuck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Michigan, USA
Living In: Trabuco Canyon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This IS my go to favorite sweet potato recipe. To the person who posted it, thank you and it is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Super easy, super yummy. Mine were still pretty soupy after an hour so I just took off the top and let the syrup reduce. Definitely my go to sweet potato recipe now. Oh and I did half white half brown sugar. Sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
I loved this recipe! The recipe said it would take about an hour to cook the potatoes but it only took about a half hour. It was a very easy recipe to follow. I would strongly suggest these sweet potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Stanberry, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I have not had success with sweet potatoes in the past. I tried this recipe but did not have high hopes. I was pleasantly surprised and totally impressed. They were awesome, tasted like I wanted. I will definitely make these for Thanksgiving and every holiday meal after. Finally, the taste I have tasted with others sweet potatoes, but never my own. My family all loved them and can't wait for me to make them again. This is an excellent recipe. I didn't change a thing in the recipe and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Scared me at first, did not know potatoes cooked down.almost did not use 6 potatos.good thing my mom is deceased, this would have broke her heart.I have struck gold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nmlovel28

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Awesome quick recipe. The family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States