Southern Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
This recipe was very good. I did not use white sugar, but drizzled agave nectar on my layers along with brown sugar, and the rest of the ingredients. I had two layers of potatoes and put the ingredients on each layer. I sort of judged the amounts. I also put this in the oven for about 40 minutes and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I have always baked my candied yams in the oven, but never again. These were absolutely the best - my guys loved them so much that I'm already making more! And guess what I'll be bringing to the next pot luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Good but it made way too much syrup. I used 1 cup white sugar & 1 cup brown sugar instead of two cups of white sugar. Next time I will use 3/4 cup of each. Otherwise nice flavor and aroma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I think I'm a convert from the marshmallow and pineapple camp. Tried this recipe because it has about 1/3 fewer carbs (still a ton, but better). Used brown sugar. Will try to remember vanilla next time. I was concerned at first that there wasn't enough liquid, but the sweet potatoes release plenty while they cook. Mine took more than two hours. Next time I will adjust the cooking temp higher to reduce the liquid as soon as the potatoes are tender enough. This was basically like dessert. I actually skipped making the pumpkin pie I had planned. Took the advice of one reviewer, and added chopped pecans. Dude, amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
i used light brown sugar and honey insted. a very big hit with family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
This my second time making this recipe. My family and I just love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
These are very yummy! I'm only giving 4 stars because I could not get the butter/sugar to get thick and gooey without adding brown sugar and a little maple syrup. I'll def. make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFKULP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honey Brook, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Narvon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Just what I was looking for. Parents give me a big box of sweet potatoes in the autumn, and every year I attempt candied sweets like my Mom makes. This is it! Used brown sugar and added a splash of Jack Daniels. Not a nutmeg fan, so I substituted ground clove. Syrup was the perfect consistency after cooking according to this recipe. DH & I polished off the leftovers with breakfast this morning. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetTaterPie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States