Southern Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Delicious!! I did use mostly light brown sugar with about 1/2 cup of white sugar. The taste was wonderful. I'm serving these tomorrow for Thanksgiving. The only problem I had was that they were done a lot earlier than I expected, so they got a little softer than I wanted and since I'll have to warm them tomorrow, I'm afraid they may get too mushy. Also they didn't candy like I expected, so I added a touch of cornstarch to the juice to thicken it a bit. You can't beat the taste though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I never tried this in a skillet. Surprise, surprise. This was amazingly alot easier than my method. Wonderful flavor, great texture and carmelization. Just be careful of the amount of sugar you add. Next time, maybe 1 1/2 cup will be enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MS ROCK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
These are sooooo good!! I never need another recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I love sweet potatoes and l love how these turn out. I will make them again this winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet2th

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manteca, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Yummy, thanks! I used yams because that was all I could find. They were quite soft after an hour, so next time I will reduce the cooking time if I have to use yams again. The flavor was nice and a very easy recipe. Love it and will be making these again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
This recipe was my first attempt at making candied yams. My family loved them! My husband tried to eat the whole pan and really didn't want to share them with anyone else! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
This was perfect! I made the recipe as writen (but I added a little maple syrup) I had no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I printed this recipe out on a whim two Thanksgiving's ago. I'm so glad I did. I started cooking my family's holiday meals and this seemed very easy to follow. It is now a tradition to have these sweet potatoes at all major holidays. I changed nothing and followed the recipe to the exact letter. Thank you for posting. This is my favorite recipe for sweet potatoes, even the kids eat them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brighton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Littleton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
These were a huge hit at my Easter dinner last night I did do as others suggested, and substituted 1c. brown sugar for 1 c. of the white. Very easy to do in my caste iron fry pan, and truly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gpchicky1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
yummy....made as is... a nice change of pace from regular potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States