Southern Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Did them mostly in the skillet and then tossed them in the oven to finish. Had to hurry them, so they weren't super soft. Added a splash of bourbon (just for fun). My favorite comment? "I love the carrots!" ....(me) "They're sweet potatoes"...(him) "I HATE sweet potatoes though!" They were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Delicious! My family loved them! Will definitely make this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grace80

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This was a little too sweet for us. It did cook up beautifully though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan May

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Mine needed to cook much longer than an hour, and they turned out very soupy, not carmelized. I put them in a baking dish and cooked them an additional 20 mins in the oven to cook down the sauce a bit (this after cooking on the stovetop for 1 1/2 hours). The flavor was nice, and they didn't fall apart, but it took too long to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
This is my one and only sweet potato recipe. I make it on all holidays and when I have a taste for them. I have shared this with family and they go crazy. These are the best!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blue Crab Lover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
good recipe. cook a little bit longer because i like sweet potatoes to be a little bit more mushy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cortney
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
I sliced the potatoes in 1/2 inch slices and reduced the recipe to four servings. It took much less than an hour to cook. As a result, the sugar/butter didn't caramelize too much but the results were still excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
These were absolutely delicious! I didn't have nutmeg on hand so I just left that ingredient out. I don't think it made too much of a difference. I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
Believe it or not, I microwaved the sweet potato to speed things up. I actually only had one left in my fridge so I didn't want to wait to cook an hour. It worked out fine! Next time with more sweet potatoes I will make it correctly. But even this way, I would rate it a 5 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 253) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States