Southern Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
These tasted amazing but they would not get soft on the stove top, they had cooked for 3 hours and were still rock hard, i stuck them in the oven for about 30 minutes they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
This recipe was very good. I did not use white sugar, but drizzled agave nectar on my layers along with brown sugar, and the rest of the ingredients. I had two layers of potatoes and put the ingredients on each layer. I sort of judged the amounts. I also put this in the oven for about 40 minutes and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I have always baked my candied yams in the oven, but never again. These were absolutely the best - my guys loved them so much that I'm already making more! And guess what I'll be bringing to the next pot luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Good but it made way too much syrup. I used 1 cup white sugar & 1 cup brown sugar instead of two cups of white sugar. Next time I will use 3/4 cup of each. Otherwise nice flavor and aroma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I think I'm a convert from the marshmallow and pineapple camp. Tried this recipe because it has about 1/3 fewer carbs (still a ton, but better). Used brown sugar. Will try to remember vanilla next time. I was concerned at first that there wasn't enough liquid, but the sweet potatoes release plenty while they cook. Mine took more than two hours. Next time I will adjust the cooking temp higher to reduce the liquid as soon as the potatoes are tender enough. This was basically like dessert. I actually skipped making the pumpkin pie I had planned. Took the advice of one reviewer, and added chopped pecans. Dude, amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
i used light brown sugar and honey insted. a very big hit with family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
This my second time making this recipe. My family and I just love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
These are very yummy! I'm only giving 4 stars because I could not get the butter/sugar to get thick and gooey without adding brown sugar and a little maple syrup. I'll def. make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFKULP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honey Brook, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Narvon, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States