Southern Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
Never made these before, but received rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
These were good, but I won't give them a full five stars because I didn't see a substantial difference compared to similar recipes that I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Snow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Very good, oddly reminds me of the ones we used to eat out of the can (I loved those). I made the syrup first on the stovetop (just combined all the ingredients, added vanilla last after taking off the heat). Then I poured over the potatoes that I had cut into small cubes and put in large glass baking dish in single layer. Don't worry that the topping is not all over the pan, it will be soon. Covered with foil and baked at 375 for 1.5 hours, stirring every 30 minutes or so. Came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Yum. I didn't think it was going to be enough sauce, so I added another half batch. As it turns out, it wouldn't have needed it. I put it in the crockpot after cooking. I think it would be better if I didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Champlin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
I give 5 stars for the ingredients, because this is how I think real candied sweet potatoes should be done. My way is to use both white and brown sugars and I begin my potatoes on top of the stove in my heavy black cast iron huge skillet and once they sugars have melted and they are all coated well, I put the skillet into my oven and let it bake until the potatoes are tender and the syrup is thickened. They are so good. Since my diabetes has become worse, I am making my potatoes using Splenda white and brown sugars and I am confident they will be just as incredible. I have been cooking with Splenda for years now and everything I bake comes out great. I am so glad that there are others who really know how to make dishes that still taste like our Momma's and Grandma's used to make. I love holidays because the smells make me think of my Momma, Lillie and my Grandma Lizzie and my Great Aunt Annie. Great cooks all and I learned from the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Lizz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by stellarcook368
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
This recipe was absolutely amazing! I didn't change a thing, and it was fabulous. The kids said it tasted like candy. They were sweet, but not too sweet and not at all watery. In fact, we were worried at first that there might not be enough liquid with just the butter, but it was perfect. From the pictures on this site they look really gross and mushy. You do want to be careful when you stir that you don't squish or mash them. They are very soft, but not at all watery or mushy. 5 stars! Note: I just added a photo of them...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stellarcook368

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Too much sugar. I cut my sugar in half of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Very, very good. Made for Thanksgiving and the family all loved it! I added mini marshmallows on the to and broiled it till golden brown, like 20 seconds...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doubledee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
These candied yams are fabulous! I will keep this recipe and make it from now on. Thank you so much for uploading!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States