Southern Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
My family has been making sweet potatoes this way for years. We use brown sugar and omit the spices. Doesn't need them. I pre-cook them in microwave for a few minutes then slice and simmer them for a few hours in a pressure cooker. Fabulous. Absolutely no marshmallows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Don't forget to add marshmallow on top!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Fanshier

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sheenagyal93
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I absolutely loved this recipe! I used brown sugar instead of white. It still came out perfect??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Made this for our early family Thanksgiving; everyone loved them. I deleted the nutmeg, used 1 cup of white sugar and 1 cup of brown sugar and FORGOT the vanilla. They are easy to make and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Haven't really tried THIS recipe...but it's similar to how I make my candied sweet potatoes... I noticed this recipe calls for "White sugar".. I usually use Brown sugar... but I guess if you don't have that on hand, white will do... and I also use King Syrup in mine in addition to the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
This was simple to follow and it turned out great!!!! My family raved about these yams. This will be our side dish on a regular at Sunday dinner. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
It's so good. My daughter loved the sweetness of the sugar. I didn't have two cups of white sugar so I used a bit of brown I love it so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Looloo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
This is real Southern style cooking! Absolutely loved them, family wanted more! I did cut the sugar by one half a cup. Will definitely be making these again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cliff G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loris, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Santee, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
The best sweet potatoes we've had. Savory and sweet; but not too much of either. (I also threw all of the ingredients into a dish and baked it instead of using the stove top.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This is the best recipe I've ever done for candied sweet potatoes. It is my new recipe for holiday meals. Hate to say it but better than Moms old recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States