Southern Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
If you want more of a candied yam where they almost look fried around the edges, then reduce the amount of sugar and butter. Too much sauce drowns the potatoes and they overcook in too much sauce and start falling apart, become liquidy and mushy. So many recipes call for too much liquid, reduce by half and make sure to cook your butter and sugar first for carmelization, then add your potatoes. Make sure there is just enough sauce on the bottom of the potatoes and NOT half way up. Then they become candied.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
288 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2004
I saw another reviewer say that after it was done...didn't want to make again because of the work. I had the complete opposite reaction. We liked these so much that I would definately do these again. Don't get me wrong, it is time consuming...but we believe they are totally worth it. Do be careful because they can burn. We found french vanilla cool whip and ate this as a dessert the next day (yum leftovers). Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
224 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2001
Im orgionaly from Texas and this has been in the family for generations. Try adding 1tblspoon of Brown sugar for every 3 sweetpotatoes used.. it adds a nice warmness to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
207 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2004
Wonderful side dish! These are so much like what I enjoyed at holiday time when I was a kid in south Ga. My recommendations are: 1)Yams and sweet potatoes are NOT the same thing. Use sweet potatoes if you can find them. However ,if only yams are available, substitute and make this dish anyway, because although the taste is not the same, the result is still very very good. 2)Even though this recipe is designed to create a very sweet dish, it calls for more sugar than is necessary. I start with HALF of the sugar and ALL of the spices. As the sweet potatoes cook, I taste and add more sugar as needed, and I usually only add a tablespoon or two. 3) Make sure to turn the sweet potatoes about every fifteen minutes, to coat them well on both sides. As they cook, they become very tender, so be careful in turning them because they will easily fall apart. This does not affect the taste, but it does affect the presentation. This is also a good reason to cut the sweet potatoes at least 1/3" thick-- the thinner they are, the more likely they are to break. 4) Try to remember to add the vanilla at the end. I forget so often, and the dish is still very nice, but the vanilla adds alot. I've dealt with my forgetfulness by leaving one vanilla bean out on the counter, and I'll throw it in the pan sometime during the last 10-30 minutes of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABoston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tifton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
This was a really nice recipe. I forgot to put the vanilla in at the end and also put just 3/4 the amount of sugar (half white and half brown) as some of the previous reviews said the recipe might be too sweet. I served this to a bunch of brits that had never had Sweet Potatoes like this and it was a hit!! Oh yes, I also cooked this in the oven in a heavy cast baking pan with foil on top rather than a skillet. I cooked for about 35 minutes at 200 degrees Celsius. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedChowDawg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Sevenoaks, Kent, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
Excellent recipe! Much easier than the way I made them in the past. I needed a large dutch oven sized pot to cook six sweet potatoes though. I left them in large chunks so they wouldn't disintigrate while cooking. The addition of vanilla is awesome but my family doesn't care for cinnamon and nutmeg in their candied sweet potatoes, so I added the zest of one small orange which added a nice flavor. I've made this twice now, once with the yellow "sweet potatoes" and once with the orange "yams" (though I guess they are all technically yams, my mom swears there is difference and only buys the "sweet potatoes"). The yellow ones came out firmer, the orange yams got mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
First time I ever made sweet potatoes, and everyone thought they were delicious. I found, though, that at the end of my hour, the sauce was not carmelized but very liquid, so I removed the potatoes, as they were fully cooked, and simmered the remaining liquid with the cover removed til it carmelized and then poured it back over my potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2003
This recipe is EXCELLENT!! I made it for Thanksgiving this year and everyone loved it. I cooked it in a crockpot to save space on the stove and it worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
These sweet potatoes were, by far, the best I ever had! They were extremely easy to make and everyone loved them! My mother-in-law was even impressed! She actually suggested not having them for Thanksgiving because she said nobody ever ate them...well, guess what, everyone ate mine!!! I did sub 1/4 of the sugar with brown sugar, but other than that followed to scale! YUM YUM YUM! Thanks!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
This was absolutely delicious and so easy. I've been trying different recipies for 25 years., this is the winner. I used 1 1/2 cups white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar. My kitchen smells wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States