Southern Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Just made this tonight for an after dinner dessert. Very good taste and the texture was terrific. I loved how the edges became like a toffee. I had to cook it for about 2 hours before I got the results the recipe was calling for. But that's okay, it was worth the wait and more importantly, my critics (my kids) loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Skunkee
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Easy recipe - Turned out perfect. I did change a few minor things. I reduced to white sugar to 1 1/2 cups and added a 1/2 cup brown sugar. I did not add the vanilla because the taste did not seem to need it. I cooked these in the old southern tradition by using an iron skillet. It made the presentation look appetizing. This goes in my recipe box as a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skunkee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
I made this recipe for my family and they loved it. I must admit I was a little nervous about trying this recipe, but I am so happy that I did. We liked it so much that I will make it again for Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Made this for a big family dinner on Christmas. It got rave reviews! I did add about 2 tbsp of brown sugar. This is definitely on my holiday meal keeper list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This was an excellent recipe. I did not find it to be a lot of work, except for the peeling and cutting of the potatoes. I did make a few changes. I used brown instead of white sugar. I also melted the butter in the microwave and hand tossed it with the potatoes in a large bowl to make sure they were well coated before placing them in an electric skillet and sprinkling them with the sugar mixture. Once the sugar and butter melted together to make the sauce(set at 300 degrees), I turned the skillet to WARM and cooked them covered that way for the hour,stirring them a few times to ensure they were well coated with the sauce. Absolutely divine and held their shape and texture just fine. The sauce can look a little loose, but thickens upon standing. Also, you can take the potatoes out of the skillet, then pour however much or little of the sauce you prefer over them. This one will go into my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Stansbury Park, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This is similar to how my mother-in-law taught me to make sweet potatoes. The first time I made candied yams, I selected this recipe as a guide because the proportions were dead on to what I remembered my mother-in-law telling me. We do this differently by using brown sugar or a mix of brown sugar and white sugar. We also add the sugar to the melted butter at low heat and stir to make a caramelized sauce. Be careful not to burn the sugar. Also, don't remove the mixture from the heat for too long (the sugar will get hard and your sauce will be lumpy). When the sauce has caramelized, add the potatoes. If the sauce sizzles when adding the potatoes, its too hot, reduce the heat and continue to stir. Otherwise, keep adding the potatoes and stir for a few more minutes as the water from the potatoes thins out the sauce. Then just let the potatoes simmer in the sauce at low heat until done. This recipe is good, but I think these changes make it a 5 star, although it is a little more work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Very good! Just made this today for Thanksgiving and hubby and the family loved them. This was a first for me, but well worth it. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
This is the way candied yams are supposed to taste! Whoever submitted this recipe got it right on! Just how we make them for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Compton, California, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
This is the only way to make authentic southern candied sweet potatoes. My mother always boiled the sweet potatoes in the skins and always overcooked them. She would then cut them length wise and they would fall apart. When I got older a girlfriend made them this way and I've been making them like this ever since. I omit the cinnamon and use more butter. Most of the time I just layer the ingredients and dot with butter starting with butter on the bottom of a very heavy pan or pot. Calphalon always works for me or a heavy cast iron skillet with a lid. Make sure you turn the fire down real low and watch them carefully. Sweet potatoes always make their own water and with the sugar and butter you never need to add any liquid. The best recipe for sweet potatoes or yams, ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chitowncook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States