Southern Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
These were delicious! I was kind of worried about letting these simmer for so long, but they turned out great. I wouldn't go as far as to say they "candied" but still the end result was a delicuious side-dish of sweet potatoes that went really well with glazed ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I thought this turned out great! It was my first time making candied sweet potatoes, so I was a little intimidated. I took another reviewers advice and did one cup brown sugar and one cup white. It gave it a great taste. Also, this did not take nearly as long to cook as I expected, after about 30 mins, they were ready to go! I guess my advice would be to keep checking to make sure that you don't overcook. Thanks so much! Will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I have trouble getting this to consistently turn out right, but when it does, it is amazing. I think the variance may have to do with the yams themselves, or perhaps I cook it slightly different each time, I don't know. . .in either case, it's a good starting point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJMANDEVILLE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I love candied yams, but stopped making them - I could not get them sweet (used to boil them first). I tried this recipe for Xmas and let me say, this was the best candied yams I have ever tasted. I loved it so much I wanted to make more the next day, but store was out of sweet potatoes. Thank you Pam, this recipe is now taped to the inside kitchen cabinet door, where I put all all my go to recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Very, very tasty! Best I've had in a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
YUM! Just made this for Christmas dinner and we loved it. It was simple and delicious. I added 1/4 t of cinnamon to my syrup, otherwise followed as written. A keeper! I love that it is for two as it is just hubby and I and most recipes make way too much for two. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heybejay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
These Candied Sweet Potatoes (Yams) were wonderful and got "rave reviews" at the "family Do" celebration we had today, Christmas in other words. Loved them myself. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE!!!! The reviews are correct!!! I did get confused about if I needed to add water, but since the recipe didnt say to add it, I didnt. The sugar and salt pulls the water out of the potatos and makes more than enough sauce. I did sub part of the white sugar for brown sugar, but I didnt measure anything, thats just me. If this is your first or hundredth time making sweet potatos, try this recipe, you wont be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by big007momma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jackson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I did something wrong. The flavoring was very good, but they just ended up being very mushy. Next time I am going to caramelize the sugar, then add the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Bunny

Displaying results 51-60 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States