Southern Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by chrissys_cooking
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
WOW! These were great and yummy! Though they take an hour to cook, it's so easy to make, and soo worth it! The husband never wants sweet potatoes cooked any other way. He is hooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrissys_cooking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
VERY GOOD, I use wiley's yam spice seasoning...and I use brown sugar..I have used this recipe for years..Always Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
This was great...we'd planted some sweet potatoes in the garden this year and I was scrambling to figure out what to do with them. My daugther, who swore she would NEVER eat sweet potatoes gobbled them up. One recommendation...I didn't have the hour that this recipe called for so I cut the sweet potatoes smaller. They cooked faster and it was still very good! Also, I second another reviewer they were good as leftovers too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Very sweet and yummy. Simmer (use smallest burner) so the syrup doesn't get too thick. Next time I'll chop the yams into large chunks instead of circles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I found that I can do this a lot easier when I have so many other Thanksgiving dishes to make. I put the yams or sweet potatoes in a heavy sauce pan and added one cup of water. Then added all of the ingredients on top of the potatoes. I covered the pot and put the flame on medium to low. As it slowly cooks, the flavors are absorbed into the yams/sweet potatoes. This produces more sauce that we later put on top of southern style corn bread for a late night sweet treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I enjoyed. Family would have preferred with less spice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
These are to "die" for. My Aunt taught me how to make them and they so wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I dont eat yams but everyone else does. Made this and they loved it. Only things i changed was no nutmeg and no vanilla. Will use this again! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAYEE
Home Town: Eastlake, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
I made these for Thanksgiving once and they were a hit. Taste just like grandma use to make. Will definitely be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
The Best Old Fashion Recipe! I found that when cooking a lot of potatoes you might want to let them cook longer in the butter. I let them cook almost until they are tender. Once you add the sugar they candy fast. My family thought they were AMAZING!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States