Southern Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I served these for Thanksgiving. I love sweet potatoes, but this recipe was WAY too sweet for all of us. It was more like a dessert. I would cut down on the sweetness next time. Also, the potatoes ended up a bit soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Penryn, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
my 3 yr old who is a very very picky eater , he even loves this dish , my god it was just a killer dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bernie18909
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Amazingly delicious but they take forever. Do this for you and your immediate family - making enough for more than 2 or 4 people is hugely time consuming!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitschCooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Love this recipe. I do use 1 cup of brown sugar and 1 cup of white sugar other than that perfecto!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Very easy to make and came out so good! I was so happy that the syrup was not runny at all like with other recipes I have tried in the past. I added a handful of pecans while cooking. I will be making this for Christmas dinner this year! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
The syrup was really good but I could not get the flavor to transfuse into the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This recipe turned out perfectly. It was my first attempt at making homemade candied yams and it was definitely worth the work!!! I slightly modified the recipe by adding a tablespoon of dark brown sugar. Everyone loved them at dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Made this for Thanksgiving a few years ago and it was a hit. This year I was assigned the sweet potatoes again and was able to find the same recipe. Everyone loved them and said they were much better than the store bought kind. I used 7 large sweet potatoes, added some brown sugar in place of all white, and sliced the potatoes into large pieces to prevent breaking. They produced lots of their own liquid and took almost 2hrs on low on the stove top. Still a success in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
very good a bit sweet but very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessilala

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States