Southern Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I made this recipe yesterday for our Labor Day cookout today. Let me tell you what I did right off the top because I sensed 2 c of sugar was too much for my liking. I used three medium sized sweet potatoes and reduced the sugar to 1/3c brown and 1/3 white. I cooked them in the oven in a casserole dish covered with foil for one hour which allowed the lightly sweetened, yet delicious syrup to penetrate each quarter inch thick sweet potato, making them nice and yummy . Aside from that everything else I followed to the letter. These are by far the BEST candied sweet potatoes I've had in my 42 years on earth! I will be making this recipe my default for all upcoming holidays and I am so thankful that I found this recipe that uses common cupboard items. I wish I could rate it 10 stars because it is truly worthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iLove2cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I wish I could do "above and beyond" stars. This recipe would get it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akaxena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarksburg, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
It was soooo yummy, we loved it. Very simple, I am not sure why the reviewer said there was too much work. Quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I got great reviews, I did make some changes,I melted 1/2 cup of butter,and used Bruce's yams,and put them in a crockpot,and cover the added melted butter,and sprinkled remaining ingredients over top,stirring occasionally. Everyone liked how sweet they were.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This came out delicious, I'll for sure do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by millimob

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I did back off on the sugar and nutmeg by about half. The dish turned out with a nice amount of sweetness and was rated as fantastic by Christmas dinner quests. Will do this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Wonderfully sweet and tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carrollton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Watseka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
For the most part, I followed this recipe; however, I did incorporate some changes. First, I peeled, sliced, and boiled the sweet potatoes until they were tender, but not falling apart. Second, while the potatoes were boiling, I cooked the sugar mixture in a pan on the stove (btw, I DOUBLED the sugar mixture - my family likes SWEET potatoes). When the potatoes were finished boiling, I drained them and placed them in a metal sheet pan and poured the sugar mixture over them. Next, I covered the pan with aluminum foil and let it sit for a few hours so that the potatoes could absorb the sugar mixture. Then, I baked the dish on 350 for 20 minutes, removed the foil and poured some marshmallows on top, put the dish back in the oven and set it to broil 400 for five minutes. It was a HIT at Thanksgiving so I'm making again for Christmas. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilo8611

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upper Marlboro, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I always get compliments on these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I used canola oil and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States