Southern Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
I don't know what I did wrong, but these didn't turn out the way they were supposed to. I cut the ingredient list in half as it was only my husband and I eating, but other reviewers have done this and their recipe turned out fine. The problem was that the 'sauce' just would not reduce. I cooked the potatoes with the lid on for about 30 minutes, and after that time the sauce wasn't even close to starting to reduce and the potatoes were cooked, so I removed the lid and left them for another half hour, we just ended up with a very gloopy, sticky sauce. The flavour wasn't bad (hence 3 stars), but they were VERY sweet, so I'm not sure how quick I will be to make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
This was really awesome! I used half brown sugar and half white sugar.It was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
Excellent! Very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
These sweet potatoes were, by far, the best I ever had! They were extremely easy to make and everyone loved them! My mother-in-law was even impressed! She actually suggested not having them for Thanksgiving because she said nobody ever ate them...well, guess what, everyone ate mine!!! I did sub 1/4 of the sugar with brown sugar, but other than that followed to scale! YUM YUM YUM! Thanks!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
I made these on Thanksgiving. Since the majority of my family are not fond of sweet potatoes, I scaled the recipe down to 4 servings. I thought that they were pretty good. My kids wouldn't touch them...but they are picky. They were very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
Turned out great! I didn't have trouble with burning at all, in fact I think I was being over cautious b/c I had to turn up the heat to thicken the sauce and cook the potatoes slices more. And you would not believe how easy it is to forget the vanilla!! Still turns out great nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlotte, Michigan, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
First time I ever made sweet potatoes, and everyone thought they were delicious. I found, though, that at the end of my hour, the sauce was not carmelized but very liquid, so I removed the potatoes, as they were fully cooked, and simmered the remaining liquid with the cover removed til it carmelized and then poured it back over my potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
Each Thanksgiving I search for the recipe that will satisfiy my husbands desire for candied sweet potatoes. This year with this recipe he said I'm getting close, but the "candied" portion was "syrup" and not thick. He did say they were tasty though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
This was terrific. Made for Thanksgiving. Even those in the group that didn't like sweet potatoes took second servings. I cooked ahead of time and then put in a casserole dish for a half hour on low temp during the last minutes of the turkey. That way was able to enjoy happy hour with family instead of slaving over the stove!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunset Hills, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
Nice change from the way too sugary marshmellow stuff!!!! This focuses much more on the sweet potato flavor and is not super sugary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States