Southern Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
These are wonderful. I grew up (and still live) in the South and these are just as I remember.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
Yum. Everyone loved these. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
Very Very Good Southern Recipe. Once you have tryed it you will be very picky who cook Yams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
My family went nuts. They said these were the best I have made so far for the holidays. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Mill City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
Fantastic! Truly "candied" just like Grandma's. This is a really sweet dish. Not at all like the sweet potatoes you find baked with the marshmallows that people usually call "candied yams". The candying gives them a different texture. These are the real thing, just what I have been looking for! Thanks for sharing, this is a real treasure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
This was perfect for our Thanksgiving feast. Everyone loved them so much, I am now required ot make these from now on. I made a couple of small changes. I used 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup white sugar. I also added about 1/2 cup of a raisin/craisin mix. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlantic Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
THESE SWEET POTATOES WERE THE BIGGET HIT I SERVED ON THANKSGIVING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Marysvale, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
This was the only new reciped I added to my Thanksgiving dinner. It was a huge hit! I only used 3/4 of the sugar mixture and it was super sweet. The cooking time was nowhere near what the recipe stated but I sliced the potatoes relatively thin. Great recipe. Will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Everyone loved it! I did half the amount of sugar and used 1/2 brown sugar as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
This was a really nice recipe. I forgot to put the vanilla in at the end and also put just 3/4 the amount of sugar (half white and half brown) as some of the previous reviews said the recipe might be too sweet. I served this to a bunch of brits that had never had Sweet Potatoes like this and it was a hit!! Oh yes, I also cooked this in the oven in a heavy cast baking pan with foil on top rather than a skillet. I cooked for about 35 minutes at 200 degrees Celsius. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedChowDawg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Sevenoaks, Kent, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States