Southern Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I used brown sugar in place of white sugar and only the butter as I don't care for cinnamon/nutmeg in my potatoes. I really liked the texture of the potato as I've been looking for a dish with the sweetness and original texture of the sweet potato. I do have to say I used Sugar Twin brown sugar and there was a funky aftertaste so next time I'll use regular brown sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I love this recipe, I took the advice and added some brown sugar and it came out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Perfect - Thank you Pam Reed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Never ever made candied yams on top of the stove. Easy and delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kisavirgo
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Awesome recipe!! Tate just like mommas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Cooked the potatoes halfway through, then did the mixture, coated and finished cooking them with half the butter/sugar. Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessenia Ortega

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
I adjusted the serving to only three and they still turned out absolutely amazing! I love sweet potatoes and always looking for new recipes. Loved this one. Saving it for sure to my recipe box
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This dish was simple and perfect. My family and I love sweet potatoes. But a lot of time they would purchase the canned sweet pirates and prep that way. I'm actually making a second batches because the first was devoured in one day. I chose to omit the nutmeg and use 1 cup brown and 1 cup white sugar as previous review. #Delish definitely a staple side dish for our family holidays. Thanks you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Loved this recipe! Made it for my family Thanksgiving and everyone loved it! I was even surprised it turned out so tasty. I was fearful of having my potatoes crumble or be underdone, so I did stick with my usual method of washing and boiling the potatoes first. I monitor them by pricking with a fork for doneness. I cook a lot at a time, so softer ones get used for pies since they will be mashed anyway and the firmer ones I use for the recipe. Boiling first means once they cool, I can peel almost all of them by hand, the skin raises up and just comes right off. It's stickier, but easier than peeling raw. I used half sugar and half dark brown sugar like some of the other comments. I put the sliced potatoes in a baking dish, poured a little of the melted butted over them, the rest of the butter went into the sugar mixtures. I then gently incorporated the sugar butter mixture into the potatoes so that they were covered but not handling them too much so they wouldn't break up. I then covered with foil and put them in a 350 oven. I'm not sure of timing, maybe half hour then I uncovered for nother half hour or so. Mostly I just "eyeballed" it. I removed when the sugar was brown and bubbly. There may be small clumps of unmelted sugar coating, but it makes a nice addition and texture. This is especially good if you have to heat it in the microwave because it will then melt down more. I love vanilla, but forgot it! No problem...these are sweet and flavorful. My new go to recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States