Southern California Cioppino Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2001
Excellent! Takes some time to prepare but definately worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2002
Fantastic soup. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
This is definately company-fare! Try enhancing the southwest flavor by adding the juice of 2 limes to the broth. I also "Atkins-it" by increasing the carrots and celery by half and eliminating the potatos. I have also used canned whole baby clams when the fresh ones in the shells are too expensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
Awesome soup! I used cans of diced cut tomatoes and Rotel Tomatoes and Green Chiles instead of the 28 oz. of crushed tomatoes. I liked the added chunkiness, and the added spice of the Rotel tomatoes. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2004
Most excellent! I must admit the first time I made this I nixed the "southwest flavors" (cilantro, chile powder, etc.) as I was after a more classic cioppino -- turned out great! I was truly impressed! Second time I completely followed the recipe -- and it was brilliant! If the fish weren't so bloody expensive I'd make it more often...*grumbles*...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
This is the best cioppino i've tasted,i live in sf bay area and have been eating local cioppino's for many years. This recipe is the best i've ever made, no changes, thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
Tastes great, my changes were salmon instead of halibut, dried parsley, no shelled mussels or clams used shelled razorneck clams. I think that you could use half of the seafood amounts and still have a great dish. This isn't spicy, so you could increase the garlic and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
I thought this was tasty but not great. It could have been spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
Excellent of course given the ingredients! Two most important tips I can think of are use only the freshest seafood and DON"T overcook it!!! I added red/grn bell pepper to onion/garlic. I also doubled the amount of seafood and added fresh dungeness crab. served w/ good crispy french bread and passed on the salad (and I'm a big salad eater!!!). just didn't want to waste the space on greens. AWESOME! In fact making again this weekend.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
This did nothing for me. I won't make it again but we will finish the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geneseo, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Cioppino

See how to make San Francisco's famous seafood stew!

Seafood Cioppino

This top-rated stew boasts 5 kinds of seafood in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Cioppino

See how to make a top-rated seafood stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States