Southern California Cioppino Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
This is an absolutely phenomenal recipe. It is expensive to make, but it's certainly worth it. I did not use any chili powder or crab. I put in a small lobster tail and cod (instead of halibut), used only 1/2 pounds of clams and mussels to save a bit of money. Finally, I doubled the cayenne - we really like our Ciopinno to have a nice KICK! I served it up with sourdough bread and brut champagne. It was awesome! 10 STARS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Add whatever seafood you like but don't change anything else. Wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I made this dish for our family Christmas dinner this year. It was the first time I had made it and I am happy to say that it was a huge success. Everyone loved it. I made it exactly as stated. Wouldn't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
We are from Colorado where Cioppino is not familiar. Our family had never had Cioppino and loved it. Pricey, but great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
This is now our New Years trasitional dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
This disk is absolutely delicious and is my Mother's favorite, so I make it on occasions when I want to treat her.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
Wow, what a knockout!! the great thing about this recipe is that you can use whatever seafood is readily available. I used rockfish, scallops, shrimp, crab and clams. Increased the amount of tomato juice and white wine, added a cup of water and nixed the cilantro and chili powder (didn't want any tex-mex flavors) I threw in a can of progresso clam sauce just because it was sitting in my pantry forever! The 2 hour simmer time is way long and unnecessary, I did mine for 45" and it was just perfect! This makes a TON of soup and I could have eaten it all by myself...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
This did nothing for me. I won't make it again but we will finish the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geneseo, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
Excellent of course given the ingredients! Two most important tips I can think of are use only the freshest seafood and DON"T overcook it!!! I added red/grn bell pepper to onion/garlic. I also doubled the amount of seafood and added fresh dungeness crab. served w/ good crispy french bread and passed on the salad (and I'm a big salad eater!!!). just didn't want to waste the space on greens. AWESOME! In fact making again this weekend.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Cioppino

See how to make San Francisco's famous seafood stew!

Seafood Cioppino

This top-rated stew boasts 5 kinds of seafood in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Cioppino

See how to make a top-rated seafood stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States