Southern California Cioppino Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
This is an absolutely phenomenal recipe. It is expensive to make, but it's certainly worth it. I did not use any chili powder or crab. I put in a small lobster tail and cod (instead of halibut), used only 1/2 pounds of clams and mussels to save a bit of money. Finally, I doubled the cayenne - we really like our Ciopinno to have a nice KICK! I served it up with sourdough bread and brut champagne. It was awesome! 10 STARS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Add whatever seafood you like but don't change anything else. Wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I made this dish for our family Christmas dinner this year. It was the first time I had made it and I am happy to say that it was a huge success. Everyone loved it. I made it exactly as stated. Wouldn't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
We are from Colorado where Cioppino is not familiar. Our family had never had Cioppino and loved it. Pricey, but great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
This is now our New Years trasitional dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
This disk is absolutely delicious and is my Mother's favorite, so I make it on occasions when I want to treat her.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
Wow, what a knockout!! the great thing about this recipe is that you can use whatever seafood is readily available. I used rockfish, scallops, shrimp, crab and clams. Increased the amount of tomato juice and white wine, added a cup of water and nixed the cilantro and chili powder (didn't want any tex-mex flavors) I threw in a can of progresso clam sauce just because it was sitting in my pantry forever! The 2 hour simmer time is way long and unnecessary, I did mine for 45" and it was just perfect! This makes a TON of soup and I could have eaten it all by myself...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
This did nothing for me. I won't make it again but we will finish the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geneseo, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
Excellent of course given the ingredients! Two most important tips I can think of are use only the freshest seafood and DON"T overcook it!!! I added red/grn bell pepper to onion/garlic. I also doubled the amount of seafood and added fresh dungeness crab. served w/ good crispy french bread and passed on the salad (and I'm a big salad eater!!!). just didn't want to waste the space on greens. AWESOME! In fact making again this weekend.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Cioppino

See how to make San Francisco's famous seafood stew!

Seafood Cioppino

This top-rated stew boasts 5 kinds of seafood in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Cioppino

See how to make a top-rated seafood stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States