Southern California Cioppino Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2004
Most excellent! I must admit the first time I made this I nixed the "southwest flavors" (cilantro, chile powder, etc.) as I was after a more classic cioppino -- turned out great! I was truly impressed! Second time I completely followed the recipe -- and it was brilliant! If the fish weren't so bloody expensive I'd make it more often...*grumbles*...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
This is the best cioppino i've tasted,i live in sf bay area and have been eating local cioppino's for many years. This recipe is the best i've ever made, no changes, thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
This is definately company-fare! Try enhancing the southwest flavor by adding the juice of 2 limes to the broth. I also "Atkins-it" by increasing the carrots and celery by half and eliminating the potatos. I have also used canned whole baby clams when the fresh ones in the shells are too expensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
Wow, what a knockout!! the great thing about this recipe is that you can use whatever seafood is readily available. I used rockfish, scallops, shrimp, crab and clams. Increased the amount of tomato juice and white wine, added a cup of water and nixed the cilantro and chili powder (didn't want any tex-mex flavors) I threw in a can of progresso clam sauce just because it was sitting in my pantry forever! The 2 hour simmer time is way long and unnecessary, I did mine for 45" and it was just perfect! This makes a TON of soup and I could have eaten it all by myself...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
Awesome soup! I used cans of diced cut tomatoes and Rotel Tomatoes and Green Chiles instead of the 28 oz. of crushed tomatoes. I liked the added chunkiness, and the added spice of the Rotel tomatoes. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2002
Fantastic soup. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2001
Excellent! Takes some time to prepare but definately worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
This is now our New Years trasitional dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
Tastes great, my changes were salmon instead of halibut, dried parsley, no shelled mussels or clams used shelled razorneck clams. I think that you could use half of the seafood amounts and still have a great dish. This isn't spicy, so you could increase the garlic and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
I have made this several times and everyone loves it and there are no leftovers. I make it for 4 and with all the seafood 6 can eat very well. One of my favorite recipes and the whole kitchen smells so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Cioppino

See how to make San Francisco's famous seafood stew!

Seafood Cioppino

This top-rated stew boasts 5 kinds of seafood in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Cioppino

See how to make a top-rated seafood stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States