Southern California Cioppino Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 16, 2005
I thought this was tasty but not great. It could have been spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
Tastes great, my changes were salmon instead of halibut, dried parsley, no shelled mussels or clams used shelled razorneck clams. I think that you could use half of the seafood amounts and still have a great dish. This isn't spicy, so you could increase the garlic and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
This is the best cioppino i've tasted,i live in sf bay area and have been eating local cioppino's for many years. This recipe is the best i've ever made, no changes, thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2004
Most excellent! I must admit the first time I made this I nixed the "southwest flavors" (cilantro, chile powder, etc.) as I was after a more classic cioppino -- turned out great! I was truly impressed! Second time I completely followed the recipe -- and it was brilliant! If the fish weren't so bloody expensive I'd make it more often...*grumbles*...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
Awesome soup! I used cans of diced cut tomatoes and Rotel Tomatoes and Green Chiles instead of the 28 oz. of crushed tomatoes. I liked the added chunkiness, and the added spice of the Rotel tomatoes. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
This is definately company-fare! Try enhancing the southwest flavor by adding the juice of 2 limes to the broth. I also "Atkins-it" by increasing the carrots and celery by half and eliminating the potatos. I have also used canned whole baby clams when the fresh ones in the shells are too expensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2002
Fantastic soup. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2001
Excellent! Takes some time to prepare but definately worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-28 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Cioppino

See how to make San Francisco's famous seafood stew!

Seafood Cioppino

This top-rated stew boasts 5 kinds of seafood in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Cioppino

See how to make a top-rated seafood stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States